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This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2DX

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ T63

♥ J4

♦ KQT86

♣ K97

West

♠ K2

♥ 753

♦ AJ974

♣ AQ4

East

♠ 9754

♥ K92

♦ 52

♣ 8653

South

♠ AQJ8

♥ AQT86

♦ 3

♣ JT2

This series is all about low-level Doubles 
and how they can be used to extract 
penalties. Essentially we focus on the 
problems faced by the opening bidder 
when an overcall on the left has been 
Passed back to you. Here you are in the 
reopening seat. What should you do? 
Surrender gracefully or continue the 
fight? If you decide to battle on what is the 
most effective way to do so and how 
might you punish an injudicious overcall 
by your opponents?

Hand 1 contains a cautionary lesson for the 
unwary. We are going to put you in the 
pleasurable position of teaching the 
opponents a sharp lesson 

West North East South

- P P 1♥

2♦ P P X

P P P

Lead: ♥ J

You might not recognise this deal but it has 
been used in a previous edition of V-Blue. In 
that occasion you sat with the North cards but 
you also defended 2♦ Doubled for a thumping 
penalty. The point of repeating this deal is to 
show you how injudicious overcalls can still be 
taken to the cleaners even if you are playing 
low-level Doubles as take-out. 

Bidding. You (South) open 1♥ and West 
makes a very poor overcall of 2♦ (of which, 
more later). North should simply bide his time 
and Pass this; there is no point at bidding 
anything at this stage. When the opponents bid 
your best suit your optimum strategy is to lie 
low and say nuffin'.

When 2♦ floats round to you as South you 
shouldn't just sit there and take it – it is your 
duty to compete for the part-score. Many would 
bid 2♥ but that is a very poor bid. 2♠ (a reverse, 
requesting preference at the three-level) would 
be far too ambitious. Vastly superior is a take-
out Double – much the best call when you are 
short in the opponents' suit. Remember, partner 
already knows you have Hearts – he wasn't 
asleep on the previous round of bidding! 

The re-opening Double allows partner to 
compete in any of the other three suits. The 
extra gain is that it also allows him to Pass 
when he has (as here) a trump stack. With four 
potential trump tricks (he is sitting over declarer, 
remember) North is delighted to convert your 
take-out Double into a penalty Double. 
Technically speaking he is making a Penalty 
Pass. East can do nothing but watch the 
carnage. 

Play. This is just too excruciating to go through 
in detail. It is, in short, a nightmare for declarer 
who manages just three tricks (the ♦A, the ♠K 
and the ♣A). That makes a 1400 point penalty. 
North mutters something under his breath as he 
writes down the score. It sounds like, "I've had 
shorter telephone numbers" but you can't be 
sure.

Post-mortem. Now, was West unlucky or did 
he do something wrong? Take a careful look at 
his hand – was that worth a 2♦ overcall 
after you had opened 1♥? After all, think of 
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some of the hands that we have suggested that 
you overcall 1♥ or 1♠ on in previous 
series. Here, you have overcalled on as little 
as 8 points and a good suit – in this layout West 
has a robust opening bid, a whole 14 points. 

The truth is that West was (a little) unlucky to 
run into such a firestorm but it is certainly true 
that his overcall was a fairly awful bid. 

Why? Well, an overcall at the two-level is very 
different animal from a one-level overcall. This 
may need some explanation. 

Firstly you cannot realistically expect to contest 
the auction when your suit is a minor and theirs 
is a major. If the opponents have Hearts or 
Spades they will simply outbid you. The great 
American player and writer Eddie Kantar put it 
succinctly when he said, “You can’t fight tanks 
with toy soldiers”. Brilliant. 

Secondly, you should be very wary of bidding 
on poor suits. Here, ♦A J 9 7 5 has more holes 
than a proverbial Swiss cheese. In the play of 
this deal it made precisely one trick. Ugh. 

Thirdly, no experienced player likes to make a 
two-level overcall on a 5∙3∙3∙2 hand. Such 
stubby-shaped hands simply contain too many 
losers to be suitable to contest the auction. 
Even if not Doubled you won’t take many tricks 
with this type of hand. 

In conclusion it is a truism that there are 
certainly hands that would open the bidding but 
not overcall and there are certainly hands that 
would not overcall but would open the bidding. 

The world of competitive bidding is a dark and 
difficult one. Don't expect to learn all its secrets 
immediately. However, you should learn to stay 

out of trouble on hands like these.
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This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2CX

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ AQT82

♥ KQ94

♦ K62

♣ 2

West

♠ K97

♥ T862

♦ J984

♣ 53

East

♠ J64

♥ A75

♦ QT

♣ AQT87

South

♠ 53

♥ J3

♦ A753

♣ KJ964

What do you do when the opponents bid your 
suit...? You sit quietly and you wait for 
something good to happen.

West North East South

- 1♠ 2♣ P

P X P P

P

Lead: ♠ 5

This hand is similar to Hand 1, this time seen 
from the perspective of the player with the 
trump stack. 

Bidding. North has an obvious opening bid of 
1♠ and East decides to go swimming in shark-
infested waters by overcalling with 2♣. This is 
an untutored overcall, showing that East-West 
have learned nothing at all from Hand 1. The 
2♣ bid is presumably based on the old (and 
largely worthless) excuse of “I had to bid – I had 
13 points!” 

The actual overcall is very poor – there are a lot 
of losers in that hand, the suit is a minor, it is 
lousy (well, full of holes) and – crucially – the 
shape is the dreaded 5∙3∙3∙2 pattern. Still, if all 
of our opponents played the game to a high 
standard it would be hard to win – we need 
opposition like this… 

As South we are delighted by this turn of events 
but we can do nothing but Pass and we must 
do so without a flicker – it is against the rules of 
the game to give unauthorised information to 
partner. 

2♣ gets Passed to North and that player has an 
obvious re-opening Double. It is almost always 
right to re-open the bidding in these positions 
when you are short in the opponents’ suit and 
Double is the most flexible call. Part-scores 
must be contested! Now you can reap the 
benefits of East’s generosity by leaving the 
Double in; a Pass converts a take-out Double 
into a penalty Double. 

Play. To go through this in detail would be 
intruding on private grief. East manages just 
four tricks, going four down Doubled. As he is 
not vulnerable that costs his side 800 points. 
You don’t need to point out that this is a rotten 
result for East-West – West will do that (loudly!) 
as he is writing down the score. 

Post-mortem. It is worth noting that you were 
destined to play this hand in 2♠ if East had had 
the sense to keep his mouth shut. The likely 
(uncontested) bidding would have been 1♠ – 
1NT – 2♥ – 2♠ – Pass. 800 is a better result 
than 110 any day of the week. West, you 
notice, is making that point to East – with some 
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irritation...
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www.vubridge.com

This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2HX

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ T2

♥ AJ93

♦ 653

♣ KQ93

West

♠ 865

♥ KQT42

♦ KT

♣ AJ8

East

♠ QJ4

♥ 87

♦ J982

♣ 7542

South

♠ AK973

♥ 65

♦ AQ74

♣ T6

Here you have a decision to make as the 
opening bidder. Do you reopen the bidding? If 
so, with what?

West North East South

- - P 1♠

2♥ P P X

P P P

Lead: ♠ T

Bidding. You (South) have an obvious 1♠ 
opening bid in second seat. West overcalls 2♥
and this is Passed back to you. Do you stick or 
twist? In other words, do you Pass or do you 
bid? If you choose to contest the auction how 
should you do it? 

Well, the usual guidelines here are that you 
should strain to bid when you are short in the 
opponents’ suit so, with a doubleton Heart, you 
should bid. Now, although there are risks in the 
action, the most flexible bid is Double. True, 
partner might bid 3♣ leaving you awkwardly 
placed but it is still the best way of competing. 
Partner knows you have Spades so will try to 
bid 2♠ if he has garbage; he won’t introduce a 
poor Club suit into the auction for no good 
reason. The upside of the action is if partner 
has been lurking with decent Hearts behind the 
2♥ bidder (as here). Now 2♥ Doubled will be 
Passed out and the holocaust will begin… 

Play. West will learn exactly what 
Schopenhauer meant when he described 
pleasure as the absence of pain. Pain is what 
West will get and, frankly, it is what he has 
asked for. The hand is a nightmare for declarer 
and he can take no more than three (count 
them, three!) tricks. That totals a cool 1400 
points to the good guys and East-West must be 
close to tears as they write down the score. 

Post-mortem. Was West unlucky? Well, as you 
are beginning to realize by now, the answer is 
both yes and no. Yes, he was unlucky to run 
into such a ghastly firestorm but really his bid of 
2♥ was a high risk effort that stood to gain little. 
True, his suit is a major (on Hands 1 & 2 the 
overcalls were futile efforts on five-card minor 
suits) but as against that West is facing a 
Passed partner, vulnerable. 

What can he hope to gain by overcalling? To 
compete the part-score? Maybe, but the 
downside is very, very bleak. Notice that West 
is 5∙3∙3∙2, the dreaded shape that should really 
refrain from a two-level overcall without armor-
plating. There are an awful lot of losers in that 
West hand – and West duly lost an awful lot of 
tricks. 
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Think of it this way. On a very good day West 
might just win the auction and record 140 
points. On a bad day like today he might get 
socked for a penalty of 1400. Do the odds 
justify taking such a risk? The answer is an 
emphatic NO!
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www.vubridge.com

This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: South Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 3

♥ AJ42

♦ 865

♣ K8632

West

♠ A4

♥ KQT983

♦ A4

♣ 974

East

♠ 8752

♥ 75

♦ T973

♣ AQT

South

♠ KQJT96

♥ 6

♦ KQJ2

♣ J5

Again, you are faced with a decision in the 
reopening seat. Do you give up in disgust or 
carry the fight to the enemy?

West North East South

- - - 1♠

2♥ P P 2♠

P P P

Lead: ♥ K

Bidding. You (South) have an obvious 1♠ 
opening bid. West overcalls 2♥ and this is 
Passed back to you. Do you stick or twist? In 
other words, do you Pass or do you bid? If you 
choose to contest the auction how should you 
do it? 

Well, the usual guidelines here are that you 
should strain to bid when you are short in the 
opponents’ suit so, with a singleton Heart, you 
should bid. Now, caught up in the excitement of 
Hands 1, 2 & 3 you might think that you should 
reopen the bidding with a take-out Double but 
that would be the wrong choice on this hand. 
Certainly you should bid (Passing is for wimps) 
but the right call is 2♠. 

You have very little in the way of defensive
tricks (this usually means Aces, in fact) but 
plenty of offensive tricks (also known as playing 
tricks). If Spades are trumps you expect to 
make a fair number of tricks even facing tripe in 
the dummy. On the other hand, you wouldn’t 
care to defend 2♥ Doubled if partner Passed 
your take-out Double so it is unwise to put such 
temptation in his path.

Play. Having avoided the pitfall of defending 2♥
Doubled – a fate that might well have befallen 
you had you decided to reopen with a take-out 
Double – 2♠ is relatively easy to make. You can 
always force five Spade tricks, the ♥A and two 
Diamond tricks for eight in all. A 3-3 Diamond 
split would have allowed you nine tricks but that 
wasn’t happening today.

Post-mortem. East-West have learnt 
something about overcalls. That 2♥ overcall, 
with a good six-card suit and two Aces, is 
perfectly respectable. Perhaps they have taken 
too much of a battering in previous deals and 
are starting to respect us…
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www.vubridge.com

This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2D

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: South Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J9

♥ A62

♦ 976

♣ J8632

West

♠ 64

♥ KQ9

♦ AQT852

♣ A4

East

♠ QT82

♥ JT8743

♦ 4

♣ QT

South

♠ AK753

♥ 5

♦ KJ3

♣ K975

Well, it's the same old dilemma. Do you carry 
the fight to the opponennts or do you give it 
up?

West North East South

- - - 1♠

2♦ P P P

Lead: ♠ J

Bidding. You (South) have an obvious 1♠ 
opening bid as dealer. West overcalls 2♦ and 
this is Passed back to you. Do you stick or 
twist? In other words, do you Pass or do you 
bid? If you choose to contest the auction how 
should you do it? Well, the usual guidelines 
here are that you should strain to bid when you 
are short in the opponents’ suit. So, should you 
bid?  

All the signs here are that you should Pass. 
You have a singleton Heart (so who has that 
suit?) and values, not to mention length, in the 
suit bid on your left. This hand looks like it’s a 
misfit – in such cases you should let sleeping 
dogs lie.

Play. Partner leads the ♠J against 2♦, which 
you can read as being the top of a doubleton or 
a singleton (partner would lead his lowest card 
from ♠J × ×). Best defence is to switch to the 
singleton Heart. Partner obliges by winning the 
♥A and returning a Heart for you to ruff. You 
now play the ♠A and another Spade. Declarer 
desperately ruffs that with the ♦10 and tries the 
effect of playing the ♦A and another Diamond 
but a further Spade lead from you allows 
partner to make his ♦9 for one down.

Post-mortem. The best spot for East-West is 
undoubtedly in Hearts, in fact they may well be 
able to make 4♥. Who is to blame, though? 
East doesn’t really care to introduce 2♥ into the 
auction on a feeble suit with a weak hand on 
a deal that looks to be a misfit. 

From the North-South point of view, defending 
2♦ is certainly best for your side. Incidentally, 
bidding 2♠ on your cards would not have been 
a good idea. That will certainly go down (so you 
will get a minus score instead of a plus score) 
and there is an outside chance that East-West 
would wake up and bid Hearts.
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www.vubridge.com

This series shows how to extract penalties when opponents 
make overcalls and run into bad breaks. This involves the idea 
of re-opening Doubles. It also details hands where re-opening 
with a Double is not a good idea.

VB#10 Re-opening Doubles (ACOL)
Contract: 2S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: South Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J8

♥ 9764

♦ JT62

♣ 953

West

♠ T4

♥ KQJT8

♦ K3

♣ AJT8

East

♠ 6532

♥ 32

♦ Q954

♣ K76

South

♠ AKQ97

♥ A5

♦ A87

♣ Q42

Some hands can be very difficult to judge - 
should we bid on? 

To game?

West North East South

- - - 1♠

2♥ P P X

P 2♠ P P

P

Lead: ♥ K

Bidding. You have an obvious opening bid of 
1♠ and West is worth an overcall of 2♥. Note 
that he only has five of them but he has 
compensation for that – a very good Heart suit 
(no Swiss cheese here!) and a chunky side-suit 
in Clubs. 2♥ comes back to you in the South 
seat – do you reopen the bidding?

Well, with 19 points and a shortage in the 
opponents’ suit it would be craven to Pass the 
hand out in 2♥ so of course you bid – and the 
most flexible call is Double. You’d be delighted 
if partner Passed that holding a string of Hearts 
– West must be booked for a penalty the size of 
a City trader’s salary. However, North doesn’t 
Pass 2♥ Doubled. He bids 2♠. What now?

Well, you should appreciate that you have put a 
gun to partner’s head and screamed “Bid!” at 
him. What is the poor fellow supposed to do 
holding used bus tickets? He has to do 
something and 2♠ is the cheapest way out. It 
shows nothing, promises nothing. Bearing that 
(and the fact that partner did not bid over 2♥) in 
mind you should Pass. Bidding again (what? 
2NT? 3♠?) would be over-optimistic.

Play. When dummy appears you can 
appreciate North’s predicament. What should 
he do after your take-out Double? Passing the 
Double is very risky – 2♥ is very likely to make 
and no one wants to Double the opponents into 

game; that would be very expensive. 2♠ is the 
least of all evils.

West leads the ♥K and you survey dummy with 
little enthusiasm. You have, it appears, one 
Heart loser, two Diamond losers and three Club 
losers. One too many. In terms of winners the 
answer is the same – you have five Spades and 
two Aces – one too few.

Your only chance is to dredge up an extra trick 
in Diamonds – and that can only be done if 
West has ♦K × or ♦Q × (All right, you could play 
either opponent for ♦K Q alone, but how likely is 
that?)

With this in mind you take the ♥A and 
immediately lead a low Diamond. West, caught 
in a tricky position, takes his ♦K and continues 
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Hearts. You ruff, cross to the ♠J and run the ♦J. 
When that holds you hasten to draw trumps and 
cash the ♦A. It wouldn’t have helped West not
to take his ♦K – you would have had no option 
but to cash the ♦A later in the hand and drop his 
majesty. Now the ♦J would score the decisive 
eighth trick.

Post-mortem. When you hold a good hand be 
very aware that partner may hold peanuts. 
When you make a take-out Double and partner 
makes the minimum response you should also 
be aware that partner is forced to bid and may 
have nothing. Don’t assume “support” in 
auctions like the one in this deal. If North had 
had Spade support and enough to allow you to 
make a game he would have bid 2♠ over 2♥ or 
maybe made a negative Double.
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