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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ Q653

♥ KQT8

♦ 74

♣ AQ8

West

♠ JT4

♥ 6532

♦ KQJ9

♣ 75

East

♠ AK72

♥ 4

♦ T63

♣ T6432

South

♠ 98

♥ AJ97

♦ A852

♣ KJ9

This set of six deals is (nearly) all about 
the crossruff. This play is when you make 
your trumps separately by ruffing your 
losers in both hands - dummy and the 
closed hand. 

Many players enjoy this area of the game - 
often they enjoy it too much! It is 
important to know when it is the right play 
to ruff in both hands and when it is not. 

The feature of the crossruff is that you do 
not draw trumps - you use as many of 
your trumps as possible to ruff losers. If 
you use this play when you shouldn't 
(when you should be drawing trumps) you 
will end up with egg on your face. 

Hand 1 is a case in point. A 4-4 major-suit fit 
reached via Stayman. 

Do we need to draw trumps? If so, ruffing in 
both hands is the wrong play.

West North East South

- P P 1NT

P 2♣ P 2♥

P 4♥ P P

P

Lead: ♦ K

Now, on the sight of dummy you (South) should 
pause and make a Plan in 4♥ (we make no 
apology for the continual beating of this 
particular drum). 

A Count of tricks (winners and losers) shows 
there to be… four Heart winners, one Diamond 
winner and three Club winners. So that’s eight 
winners. In terms of losers there are two Spade 
losers and one Diamond loser. As so often we 
have a discrepancy – eight winners, three 
losers. 

We only have two ways of disposing of losers, 
we can either trump them or dump them. 
There is no source of tricks in either dummy or 
declarer’s hand that would allow any discards, 
so there is to be no dumping. The only way that 
we can dispose of losers, then, is to trump them 
and we have to ruff two losers to raise the 
winner count to ten. 

The important point, though, is that we must not 
be seduced into ruffing in both hands – with the 
4-1 trump break that would be fatal. We either 
have to ruff two Diamonds on the table OR two 
Spades in hand – but not both. 

So, win the ♦A at trick one and concede a 
Diamond. The ball is now in the defenders’ 
court. As it happens, West switches to the ♠J 
and the defenders play three rounds of Spades 
at us. Now the Plan changes – we aim to ruff 
two Spades in hand (ruff the third Spade, cross 
to a Club, ruff the last Spade and draw trumps). 

If West were to play a red card instead of the ♠J 
(on many occasions he is very likely to play a 
trump) we ruff a Diamond on table, cross to 
hand, ruff another Diamond on table, draw four 
rounds of trumps and cash the Clubs. 

Ten tricks come from six trump tricks, one 
Diamond and three Clubs. Note that drawing 
trumps would be fatal, as would any attempt to 
play this deal on some sort of crossruff. If you 
ruff in both hands you can never make three 
Club tricks as West will ruff the third round. 
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It is a major error with this type of deal to ruff in 
both hands. 
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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 4S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: East Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J985

♥ 8

♦ K42

♣ AQ543

West

♠ 3

♥ QT9743

♦ QJT9

♣ 76

East

♠ 764

♥ K5

♦ A65

♣ KT982

South

♠ AKQT2

♥ AJ62

♦ 873

♣ J

On this deal you reach a perfectly normal 
game contract. The play, however, is very 
different from that of Hand 1. 

Here there is no side-suit to establish or cash. 
So how should you make the contract?

West North East South

- - P 1♠

P 3♠ P 4♠

P P P

Lead: ♦ Q

This deal is designed to provide a sharp 
contrast with Hand 1. As South you reach 4♠ 
and West leads the ♦Q, trapping your ♦K. 

Whatever you do at tricks one, two and three 
the ♦K is sandwiched and the defenders take 
the first three tricks. East then gets off lead with 
his little trump, which is taken with dummy's ♠5. 

Now what? Well, let's try a Count and Plan, 
shall we? You can see five trump tricks and two 
Aces. So there are seven top tricks with the 
possibility of a eighth trick via the Club finesse. 
However, you can see that your losing Hearts 
can all be ruffed in the dummy. What is more, 
there is no need to draw trumps on this deal 
because (apart from the Aces) you have no 
side-suit winners to cash. 

So you can cash the ♣A, ruff a Club, cash the 
♥A and then successively ruff Hearts and Clubs 
in dummy and hand respectively. A forlorn East, 
you may note, is forced to under-ruff on the last 
two tricks. 

This hand is a classic, textbook example of a 
crossruff.
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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ AK54

♥ J963

♦ K

♣ K643

West

♠ Q6

♥ 8754

♦ AQ873

♣ 97

East

♠ JT732

♥ 2

♦ J52

♣ QJT8

South

♠ 98

♥ AKQT

♦ T964

♣ A52

Here you reach a game contract and have to 
decide how to time the play carefully.

If you don't get it precisely right the 
opponents have a counterplay. See how you 
fare.

West North East South

- - - 1NT

P 2♣ P 2♥

P 4♥ P P

P

Lead: ♥ 4

As South you arrive in 4♥ after another 
Stayman auction. West (rot his foetid soul) 
leads a trump, which starts to cut down on your 
ruffing options. 

Count and Plan. You can see that you have 
eight easy tricks (two Spades, four trumps, and 
two Clubs) so need to up the winner count by 
two. That can be achieved by ruffing twice in 
one hand or the other. 

However, this hand contains a small trap... 
suppose you decide to ruff two Spades in hand. 
This would leave you very badly placed as 
West would throw off a Club (or two) as you did 
this. Now you would have difficulty making the 
♣A K. 

The best play is to concede a Diamond at trick 
two. West takes the ♦A and continues with a 
trump (good defence – curse him). Now you 
should cash your outside winners. By playing 
off the ♠A K and the ♣A K you prevent West 
discarding any of the cards from these suits 
when you start ruffing things. 

Having taken your black-suit winners it's plain 
sailing – just ruff Diamonds on table and 
Spades in hand. This crossruff lands you four 
extra trump tricks to go with the two Hearts and 
the ♠A K and ♣A K already made. Contract 
secured...
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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 7S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: South Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ QJT65

♥ KQJT5

♦

♣ QJT

West

♠ 4

♥ A9842

♦ Q94

♣ 9862

East

♠ 32

♥ 763

♦ AKJT7

♣ 753

South

♠ AK987

♥

♦ 86532

♣ AK4

Here, you are about to play in an optimistic 
contract. The bidding may overwhelm you but 
that's not really the point (it's a tad optimistic 
anyway). 

As Hamlet said, "The play's the thing".

West North East South

- - - 1♠

P 4♦ X 4♥

P 4♠ P 5♣

P 5♦ P 7♠

P P P

Lead: ♦ 4

We have to make a small confession here at 
VuBridge. This deal (in its entirety) has been 
"borrowed" from an article on the internet. To 
give the hand its full attribution it comes from A 
Bridge to Inspired Declarer Play by Julian 
Laderman, which is a whole book's worth of 
interesting bridge hands. Thank you, Julian... 

Anyway, South's 7♠ call was more than a little 
optimistic after the bidding. He knew that North 
was going to put down a void Diamond 
(conceivably a singleton ♦A) but that doesn't 
mean that he anywhere to park all of his five 
low Diamonds in hand. Dummy hadn't promised 
five trumps for his 4♦ splinter bid. 

However, handsome is as handsome does (or 
something like that). West leads a Diamond in 
response to his partner's lead directing Double
and as South you should consider your options. 

After ruffing the Diamond you might think about 
playing East for the ♥A by taking a ruffing 
finesse. So, at trick two you try the effect of the 
♥K, hoping to tempt the ♥A out of East's hand. 
When East plays low (with an air of 
nonchalance) you decide that he doesn't have 
it so you ruff the Heart. Now what? 

A count of tricks shows that you can ruff all five 
Diamonds on table – but what about entries? 
The only way you can do this is to play the 
hand on a crossruff. Now, the important rule for 
a crossruff is to cash your outside winners first
so here you must cash the ♣A K Q early. 

Why? Well, if you don't, East-West will discard 
Clubs as you are merrily ruffing away in 
Diamonds and Hearts. In the ending you won't 
make more than one Club trick and your grand 
slam will fail. 

So... in detail. You ruff the Diamond opening 
lead, try the ♥K and ruff that when East doesn't 
play the ♥A. Now you cash the ♣A K Q 
(crossing your fingers as you do so – if Clubs 
are not 4-3 you will fail). When that passes off 
without pain the stage is set for the main act – 
you can just crossruff the last eight tricks with 
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East-West impotent to prevent you from raking 
in the lot. 
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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 4S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: South Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ KT98

♥ 742

♦ AJ653

♣ 7

West

♠ 76432

♥ 9

♦ T

♣ KJ9543

East

♠

♥ KQJ865

♦ KQ9742

♣ 6

South

♠ AQJ5

♥ AT3

♦ 8

♣ AQT82

This is another hand culled from the 
archives – it was reported in a local 
newspaper recently.

Local paper? - The Chicago Tribune. 

Recently? Well, in 1974. 

Oh, come on! Surely you remember...

West North East South

- - - 1♣

P 1♦ 1♥ 1♠

P 2♠ 3♥ 4♠

P P P

Lead: ♠ 2

This is a deal from 1974 – reported in the 
Chicago Tribune that year by the famous 
American author Charles H Goren. 

Goren wrote: Against South's 4♠ contract West 
preferred a trump lead to his partner’s suit and 
South started on a crossruff. Win the ♠8, ♣A, 
ruff a Club, ♦A ruff a Diamond – curtains! West 
discarded his Heart and declarer was dead. 
Eventually the ♥A was ruffed and declarer had 
to admit defeat. 

The count of tricks shows that declarer needs 
three Aces and seven trump tricks (he can’t 
make more than seven after the Spade lead). 
So South has to take the precaution of cashing 
the ♥A before embarking on the crossruff. 
Nothing can damage him now. 

Was the original South unlucky? Well, yes, but 
this game rewards good technique and players 
who neglect textbook plays are often “unlucky”.
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This series is all about the crossruff (with a warning about 
when NOT to do it!)

VB#7 The Crossruff 1 ACOL
Contract: 7S

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: East Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 32

♥ 763

♦ AKJT7

♣ 753

West

♠ QJT65

♥ KQJT5

♦

♣ QJT

East

♠ AK987

♥

♦ 86532

♣ AK4

South

♠ 4

♥ A9842

♦ Q94

♣ 9862

Here, by way of a contrast with the other 
deals of this set, you are on lead to a high-
level contract. 

What do you think you should lead? And 
why?

West North East South

- - 1♠ P

4♦ X 4♥ P

4♠ P 5♣ P

5♦ P 7♠ P

P P

Lead: ♠ 4

This deal is, of course, Hand 4 all over again, 
although it has been twisted 90° anti-clockwise 
so that you are on opening lead.

As in Hand 4 East-West bid to an optimistic 
grand slam after your partner has shown 
Diamond strength with a lead-directing Double. 
So, having been directed, what do you lead?

Leading against a grand slam is potentially 
expensive. If there is a killing lead then failure 
to find it will cost your side thousands. What 
card do you place upon the table here?

By now you know the answer – but should you 
get it right at the table? Well, the answer is 
“probably”. Unless the opponents are on some 
sort of hallucinogenic drugs East has a void 
Heart and dummy has a void Diamond 
(conceivably a singleton ♦A). Whatever the 
exact distribution it does appear that East-West 
are about to embark on an orgy of crossruffing.

Certainly, any ill-starred attempt to cash the ♥A 
is going to end in failure and your best form of 
attack is to try to take out as many trumps as 
you can by leading a Spade. On this deal, that’s 
a killer.

Declarer has only four trumps in dummy now to 
deal with five losing Diamonds in hand (the 
same applies in Hearts – only four trumps to 
deal with five Hearts). So what can East do? 
Well, on this lie of the cards – absolutely 
nothing. He may try to ruff out the ♥A by 
trumping Hearts in hand, hoping that the ♥A 
falls in three rounds but that proves to be 
fruitless. Eventually he runs out of hope and of 
tricks, going one down.

On any other lead East can cash three rounds 
of Clubs and crossruff the last ten tricks.

There is some hoary advice written in many 
bridge books which we will provide for you here. 
"Against a grand slam, lead a trump". Just 
because this advice has been around since the 
time of King George V doesn't make it wrong...
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