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) !““F'[',ggf West North East South
www.vubridge.com - P ZNT P
'Sl'ggzlfss?xsde;a?;iot:a\?g;gde&gned to complement David Bird's 3v p 3NT p
P P
VB#9 General hands Y2 ACOL gs"g;f 3N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1 Lead: « 4
Dealer: North Vulnerable: None
Play this hand onlinel Here you are defending against 3NT after East
has shown a balanced hand of 20-22 points
and no liking for Hearts. You start by leading
North your fourth-highest Spade and North’s 410 at
® 783 trick one tells you that declarer started with A
v Q96 KaQ.
¢+ J9764
+QT East’s first play (having won the first trick with
the mildly deceptive 4K) is the ¥10. How should
West East you defend?
475 & AKQ
v AJ853 v 17 Well, early in the piece or not, this is the crucial
¢+ T85 ¢ AKQ3 defence of the hand. You simply must cover
+J63 * A754 that with the K.
South .
o J9642 There are two reasons to do so. One it adheres
v K42 to the cover-an-honour-with-an-honour principle
02 (yes, the Ten is certainly an honour under the
& K982 meaning of the act) and secondly it isolates the

Heart suit. Let’s look at these points in turn.
This set of four deals concentrates on

defensive play. The hands, though, are in Firstly, by covering the ¥10 with the YK we take

two pairs, there being a link between out the YA and partners vQ 9 are now

Hands 1 & 2 and another link between promoted to winning rank. This is the rationale

Hands 3 & 4. of covering honours with honours — trick
promotion.

In Hand 1 you are defending against a game

contract after an informative auction. Secondly, by forcing the YA out early we
isolate dummy. Imagine if declarer's Hearts
were v10 9. Now we have only one Heart trick
in defence whether we cover or not as partner’s
¥Q 7 6 couldn't be promoted. However, the
difference between covering and not covering is
a staggering four tricks!

If we let the Heart run to the ¥Q declarer has
four Heart tricks in dummy awaiting his
pleasure after taking a second finesse.
However, by putting the vK on the ¢10 we
disrupt communications and East can only
make one Heart trick whether he ducks the vK
or takes it with the vA.

After your devastating defence declarer has to
hope that either Diamonds or Clubs breaks 3-3
to make 3NT. You have to be careful to discard
accurately but assiduous counting saves the
day. One down.
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com
This is a set of 4 hands designed to complement David Bird's

set of six deals for VB#9
VB#9 General hands Y2 ACOL g;"‘g:;* N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2
Dealer: East Vulnerable: N/ 5
Play this hand online!
North
& T83
v 762
+ QJ974
&JT
West East
475 & AKQ
v AJ853 v T9
+ T85 + AK63
* 763 * AQ54

South

4 J9642
v KQ4
*2

» K982

Again (cf Hand 1) you are defending 3NT
after a big hand is announced on your right.

What should you do this time?
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West North East South
- - 2NT P
3v P 3NT P
P

Lead: 4 4

Again (as in Hand 1) you are defending against
3NT after East has shown a balanced hand of
20-22 points and no liking for Hearts. You start
by leading your fourth-highest Spade and
North’s 410 at trick one tells you that declarer
started with 4A K Q.

East’s first play (having won the first trick with
the mildly deceptive 4K) is the ¥10. How should
you defend this time?

Here, you may think it obvious to cover with the
¥Q (or a deceptive ¥K) to dislodge the YA and
disrupt the communication between dummy and
declarer. Not so fast!

That play would certainly work if East were to
win the YA and play another — you could take
the second Heart and wave goodbye to dummy.
Declarer, though, might be in desperate straits
in this deal and may be forced to play for four
Heart tricks. He can manage that by ducking
your honour card at trick two and subsequently
finessing on the second round.

True, by playing low on the ¥10 you may be
giving declarer two Heart tricks instead of just
one but — as against that — you are ensuring
that East is prevented from making four Heart
tricks.

After you let the ¥10 hold East has little choice
but to play on Clubs and Diamonds for his
extras. With Clubs 4-2 and the #K offside he
cannot make the contract. Had you covered the
¥10, though, there was a chance that he might
have done.

Tough? Well, this is Year 2! What did you
expect?
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com
This is a set of 4 hands designed to complement David Bird's

set of six deals for VB#9
VB#9 General hands Y2 ACOL gz"wf; SN
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3
Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online!
North
4 QJT83
v 752
*T2
* Q9%4
West East
» K95 476
v AQT v KJ4
¢ 7654 ¢ AQJ83
& A76 » KJ3
South
s A42
v 9863
+ K9
» T852

When in third seat there are defensive rules,
correct? Third player plays high.

Does that always hold true?
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West North East South
- - - P
INT 3NT P
P
Lead: ¢ Q

Here you are defending 3NT after a routine
1NT - 3NT sequence. Partner leads the #Q -
how should you plan the defence?

Well, normal play when you have the Ace and
partner has led the Queen is to make the
Spade situation clear to partner by playing the
#A and returning one. This knocks out
declarer’s K and the defence know where they
stand. If you play low then partner may well
assume that declarer has the 4A K and may
decide to look elsewhere when on lead. Also, if
partner has led from, say, 4Q J 9 x x of Spades
he may funk leading another one in case
declarer started with 4A K 10.

Well, that’'s on a normal day. This isn't one of
those. Why not? Because dummy’s source of
tricks is Diamonds — that’'s where declarer is
going for tricks and we are the ones to be on
lead in this hand with our well-placed ¢K.

Suppose we took the #A and returned one.
Declarer would — most likely — hold up his 4K
for a round. Now West would take the Diamond
finesse into our hand and we’d lead... what,
exactly? We'd have no Spades by now and if
North has no entry we'd have no tricks.

The solution is to play a low Spade smoothly at
trick one. Now declarer daren’t duck his &K —
for all he knows, your partner started with 4A Q
J x x and that he’d better make his 4K now or
never.

After he falls for this plan West is doomed. You
take the ¢K and play off the 4A and another
Spade and North gratefully takes the rest of the
Spades. One down.
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champon West North East South
www.vubridge.com 1NT P 3NT P
This is a set of 4 hands designed to complement David Bird's
set of six deals for VB#9 P P
VB#9 General hands Y2 ACOL g;"w;c; 3N Lead: 4 4
1;::;:7‘;212015 3‘::’:;:)]: » Here, once again, you are defending again 3NT
Play this hand online! after a routine 1NT - 3NT sequence. Partner
leads the 44 this time (presumably fourth-
highest) - how should you plan the defence?
North
® 79843 Well, the textbooks say “third player plays high”
v 752 or somesuch and they tell you that you should
o T2 take the #A and play back the 4Q. Are they
& Qo4 wrong?
r/:.f_; 5075; The answer is that they are right- on most
v AQT v KT4 occasions. Not here, though. If you were to play
the #Q and West were to play the #K partner
¢ 7654 ¢+ AQJ83 .
» AT6 & KT3 (poor thing) would be confused about the
location of the #A. He would naturally assume
South West had it after your failure to play it. So on
* AQ2 most days, most layouts — follow the textbooks.
v 9863
+ K9 Here, though, partner's feelings and thoughts
+ 7852 are not important — he is not getting on lead.

Not playing high in third seat is often a crime, You are going to be on lead with the ¢K very

often referred to as a finesse against partner. ~ shortly (how else is declarer going to make 3NT
if not with Diamonds?)

Does crime pay sometimes?
Now, were you to play the #A and follow with
the #Q West would hold up his 4K, take the
third round and finesse Diamonds into your
hand. Disaster (for you), triumph (for West).
You'd be on lead with nary a Spade to lead and
declarer would have the rest (or, at least,
enough tricks for his contract).

Try the effect of a sly 4Q at trick one. Declarer
daren’t play low on this — he’d look a total
lemon if North had led a Spade from #A J 9 x x
as he’d now lose the first five Spade tricks. No,
he’'d grab the 4K and try the Diamond finesse.
Now you take the ¢K and - with
communications intact — you can play the A
and another Spade to defeat the contract.

Note that this play costs you nothing. If North
has the 4K then the #Q is equally effective as
the #A.
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