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Second Player Play; defensive problems.

Contract: 4S

By: East

Board #: 1
Vulnerable: None

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play Part 1 SA
Date: 17/06/2014

Dealer: North

Play this hand online!

North
43

v 97652
¢ 942

& AQJ3

West East

» KQ86 & A975
v 84 v AT3
¢ AKJ73 + QTS5
& KT & 865

South
& JT42
v KQJ
+ 86

& 9742

This series is all about defense and
relates to second player play. When you
are the second player in any trick you are
in the worst position of all. Your right-
hand opponent has chosen to lead this
suit and you are sandwiched between
your two opponents (between a rock and a
hard place, you might say). So you often
can't win—- whatever you do can be
countered by the next player (be it dummy
or declarer).

However... the shining light on the horizon
is that you have a partner and he is sitting
as fourth player, the last person to play to
this trick. Being last to play is obviously
the best position to be in — you can survey
the other three cards and then make your
decision. So — as second player - it is
generally wise to leave the decison to
partner. In effect, don't try to be smart —
just let the trick ride. This is the origin of
the ancient adage (it dates from whist) of
"Second Player Plays Low".

Well, like all bridge aphorisms it is sound
in theory but there are exceptions. Hence
this series. Let's see how you do.

Hand 1 is a common enough example.
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West North East South
- P P P
1e P 1a P
3e P 4a P
P P
Lead: v K

You are South, defending 44 after West has
strongly raised a 14 response. You have a
natural lead of the YK and you see a very
respectable dummy.

East takes the YA at trick one and immediately
plays the #A and tries the 49. What should you
do? Well, this play is pure intimidation. It is
designed to make you do something foolish,

should you have your actual holding of #J 10 x
X,

Your right play is to play low and wait. Declarer
(not being gifted with second sight) is bound to
play dummy’s #Q, playing for the 68% chance
of a 3-2 trump break. (If he doesn’t do that you
should keep your cards up!)

If you were to make the pointless play of
“splitting your honors” it would open up a
marked finesse when North discarded —
declarer would take the 4Q, cross to hand with
a Diamond and finesse the 48. Now he would
have four Spades, five Diamonds and the vA.

As it is, though, he cannot cope with the 4-1
trump split and the #A being offside. East can
only draw three trumps and play off the
Diamond winners. You can ruff one of those,
cash a Heart and — in response to partner’s
loud and clear signal — play a Club to partner’s
two tricks there. One down.
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Second Player Play; defensive problems. INT P 3NT P
P P
VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play (SA) (B:‘y’"\t,[f‘ecstt 3N Lead: v Q
Date: 17/06/2014 Board #: 2
Dealer: East Vulnerable: N /8 Here you are defending 3NT by West (on your
!
- - left) and partner leads the ¥Q, Declarer gravely

thanks his partner, takes the YA on table and
leads a Diamond.

North

» JT62 Now, many defenders are in too much of a
v QJT65 hurry on hands like these. Anxious to gain the
; ?(T2 lead early (to return a Heart, presumably) they

split their Diamond honors by putting in the ¢J.

West East This is wrong on so many levels. You cannot be
4 A973 * K84 denied a Diamond trick even if you play low.
:K§4 :%7.763 True, declarer might have ¢A 9 x and he might
* AJ75 * 843 play the 49 — but equally he might have no
such holding and he might do no such thing.
South He is not gifted with second sight — he has no
« Q5 idea how Diamonds are breaking.
v 9832
+ QJ52 Here, he makes the entirely reasonable play of
* Q96 leading a Diamond to the #A and playing a low

one back towards the dummy. If the Diamonds
A routine auction to a routine contract and yet were distributed in any other way then West

again you are defending with trash. could guarantee himself four Diamond tricks. As
it is, though, he is holed below the waterline by
Precisely how should you defend, though? the 4-1 split. He cannot avoid losing two

Diamonds and three Hearts and is one off.

Now suppose you were to split your honors at
trick two. The ¢K Kkills your ¢J and partner's ¢9
(an important card) and now declarer can just
run the 48 round to your ¢Q setting up the suit
for four tricks. From the Western perspective
the hand would be pianola — 3NT would make
easily.

In these positions you should leave the trick to
partner. You are not a one-man army!
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VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play (SA) g‘y’"g:g 4H

Date: 17/06/2014 Board #: 3 Lead. Py K

Dealer: South Vulnerable: E /W :

Play this hand online! . .
East opens 1v after three Passes with 15 points
and a semi-balanced hand. When West
raisesto3¥ he happily accepts the

North invitation and bids game.
& AT952
v 87

85 You decide to make the attacking lead of the K
&QT87 from 4K Q x and continue with the «Q after
partner signals strong encouragement with the

#10. You may as well try your luck with a third

West East

2643 aJ7 round of Spades but declarer ruffs.

v QJ63 v AK542

¢ QJT7 + AK32 Declarer draws trumps in two rounds and

* KJ * 64 cashes his Diamonds, finishing in the closed

hand. Now comes the critical point of the hand

Scs(ugé as declarer plays the #4 towards dummy's #K J
L)
:g& This is a key moment. You play the #3 as
& A9532 smoothly and calmly as you can. Playing the

#A would resolve declarer's guess in the suit.
Even hesitating would tell declarer you have
something to think about which may be clue
enough in a situation which is a straight 50-50
guess.

You watch the bidding as your opponents
reach game in Hearts.

You have an awkward lead. After that you
have to think where four tricks might be

coming from. This is an oft recurring situation at this game,

the famous "King-Jack guess".
Defenders should do their thinking well in
advance and not be caught on the hop at the
critical moment. They should Count-Plan-
Execute as well as declarer. Here, you don't
know North has the #Q but you lose nothing by
hoping.

With nothing to go on except his horoscope
declarer plays the #J from dummy and you are
pleased to see partner win with the #Q. Another
Club follows to your #A and declarer is one
down. Yes, some days declarer will guess
correctly and play dummy's #K and make his
contract. If he does that: good luck to him — he
will have earned his success.
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Second Player Play; defensive problems. 3NT P P P
Lead: S
VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play (SA) g;"g:g: 3N _ .
Date: 17/06/2014 Board # 4 East plays in 3NT on this deal and you have a
Dealer: West Vulnerable: All ready-made Iead Of the QJ

Play this hand online!

Declarer wins deceptively with the 4K (although
you suspect that he has the #A K Q by dint of
the fact that partner followed at trick one with

ngz the #4, a discouraging card if ever there were
v QJ8 one). East now sets about his long suit by
+J8 leading a Diamond.
& K8762
There are many players who would grab the ¢K
West East at this point — but where’s the sense in that?
4532 4 AKQ What’'s the rush? Where’s the fire? Sure,
v A4 v K952 declarer could take the trick with dummy’s ¢Q
:(Eim :%323 but he doesn’t know that. You can only help

declarer if you defend by grabbing tricks.

?3%17 East's best shot is to finesse the 10, playing
v T763 you for the ¢J. This is roughly a 50% shot to
+ AK4 make three tricks whereas playing the 4Q is
%95 25% or thereabouts. As the cards lie, East is

unlucky.

Another day, another 3NT contract. . .
y North (a surprised North) wins the ¢J and plugs

away in Spades, eventually setting you up a
long Spade. With the Club finesse wrong for
East he now has too many losers (a Club, three
Diamonds and a Spade) and goes one down.

How should you defend this one?

Remember — everything comes to he who
waits.
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P P
VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play (SA) g‘y’"g:g 4H Lead:- & T
Date: 17/06/2014 Board #: 5
Dealer: North Vulnerable: N /8 You (South) lead the 410 against 4v after your
! . .
Elav s hand onfine: opponents bid game via 19 — 2v — 4v.

Your partner wins the opening lead with the #A

North and returns a Spade, won by declarer with the
& A542 #Q. East draws two rounds of trumps finishing
v 94 in hand with the ¥Q. Now comes the #K on
;I\%%f’ which a Diamond is discarded from dummy.

The ¢A K follow and then declarer plays the #4
from hand towards dummy.

West East
:%62 :§8J753 This is the critical moment. You must play the
+ 643 + AK &9 (or the #10 if you feel strongly about it!)
» Q732 & J54 What you must not do is to grab the trick with
the #K.
South
4 T987 Declarer has six tricks and has three trumps
vT8 remaining (you know from the bidding that he
;(})(%2 started with five). So declarer only needs one

trick from Clubs and if he has the #A there is

nothing you can do; 4¥ is simply going to make.
You watch your opponents bid to 4¥ in a g you 'S simply going

straightforward auction. So you have to place partner with the #A. If
. partner alsohas the #J it doesn't matter
The defense depends on working out who \yhat you do (declarer will lose three Clubs no

has what cards and how you can stop matter what) sothe critical case s
declarer getting the trick he needs in a \yhere declarer has the #J.

particular suit.

If you play the #K declarer will be left with the
#Q and the #J against partner's #A and be
guaranteed a trick. If you correctly play the #9,
though, dummy will be forced to cover with the
#Q. Partner can win with the #A and return a
Club through declarer's #J x and declarer
doesn't get a Club trick. (And you-— the
defense — make three).

You defeat this contract because you count

declarer's tricks and avoid grabbing tricks, a
trap that many players fall into.
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Second Player Play; defensive problems. INT P 3NT P
P P
VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play (SA) (B:‘y’"\t,[f‘ecstt 3N Lead: v Q
Date: 17/06/2014 Board #: 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E /W Once again you are defending a game, this
! . .
Elav s hand onfine: time after a simple 1NT — 3NT sequence.

Partner leads the ¥Q, surely the top-of-a-

North sequence, and dummy wins with the YA before
& JT8 leading the #10. You need to decide whether to
v QJT92 follow the old adage second player plays low.
;L473 Well, these phrases often provide sound

guidance but they are not hard and fast rules.

West East If you are going to defeat this contract it looks
& AK4 4 Q53 . : . . ,
v K63 v A7 like you will need to make tricks in partner's
* K72 + A863 Heart suit. Declarer must have the ¥K and you
* QJ52 * T986 need to knock it out. There is much to be said
for winning this trick with the #A and driving out
South the ¥K now.
49762
v 854 Partner will still need an entry to his Hearts but,
;%95 if and when he gets in, the Hearts will be ready

to go. It may be that partner's entry is in Clubs.
If that is the case it is essential to play the #A

You are (once again) defending on this deal, . 1o preserve partner's entry.

watching as the opposition sail into game.

. After you take the #A and play a Heart declarer
How might you defeat West here? can do nothing. West still needs to set up a
Club trick or two and leads the suit again.
Partner gleefully grabs this with the #K and
then cashes sufficient Hearts to defeat the
contract. Declarer sullenly claims the balance.

Note what would have happened had you not
taken your #A. Partner would have taken the
&K and cleared the Hearts but — provided
declarer ducks one round of Hearts — you would
have no Heart to lead when in play with the ®A.
Contract made.
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