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Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 4S

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 3

♥ 97652

♦ 942

♣ AQJ3

West

♠ KQ86

♥ 84

♦ AKJ73

♣ KT

East

♠ A975

♥ AT3

♦ QT5

♣ 865

South

♠ JT42

♥ KQJ

♦ 86

♣ 9742

This series is all about defence and 
relates to second player play. When you 
are the second player in any trick you are 
in the worst position of all. Your right-
hand opponent has chosen to lead this 
suit and you are sandwiched between 
your two opponents (between a rock and a 
hard place, you might say). So you often 
can't win – whatever you do can be 
countered by the next player (be it dummy 
or declarer).

However... the shining light on the horizon 
is that you have a partner and he is sitting 
as fourth player, the last person to play to 
this trick. Being last to play is obviously 
the best position to be in – you can survey 
the other three cards and then make your 
decision. So – as second player – it is 
generally wise to leave the decison to 
partner. In effect, don't try to be smart – 
just let the trick ride. This is the origin of 
the ancient adage (it dates from whist) of 
"Second Player Plays Low".

Well, like all bridge aphorisms it is sound 
in theory but there are exceptions. Hence 
this series. Let's see how you do.

Hand 1 is a common enough example.

West North East South

- P P P

1♦ P 1♠ P

3♠ P 4♠ P

P P

Lead: ♥ K

You are South, defending 4♠ after West has 
strongly raised a 1♠ response. You have a 
natural lead of the ♥K and you see a very 
respectable dummy.

East takes the ♥A at trick one and immediately 
plays the ♠A and tries the ♠9. What should you 
do? Well, this play is pure intimidation. It is 
designed to make you do something foolish, 
should you have your actual holding of ♠J 10 × 
×.

Your right play is to play low and wait. Declarer 
(not being gifted with second sight) is bound to 
play dummy’s ♠Q, playing for the 68% chance 
of a 3-2 trump break. (If he doesn’t do that you 
should keep your cards up!)

If you were to make the pointless play of 
“splitting your honours” it would open up a 
marked finesse when North discarded – 
declarer would take the ♠Q, cross to hand with 
a Diamond and finesse the ♠8. Now he would 
have four Spades, five Diamonds and the ♥A.

As it is, though, he cannot cope with the 4-1 
trump split and the ♣A being offside. East can 
only draw three trumps and play off the 
Diamond winners. You can ruff one of those, 
cash a Heart and – in response to partner’s 
loud and clear signal – play a Club to partner’s 
two tricks there. One down.
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www.vubridge.com

Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: West Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ JT62

♥ QJT65

♦ 9

♣ KT2

West

♠ A973

♥ K4

♦ A84

♣ J875

East

♠ K84

♥ A7

♦ KT763

♣ A43

South

♠ Q5

♥ 9832

♦ QJ52

♣ Q96

A routine auction to a routine contract and yet 
again you are defending with a poor hand. 

Precisely how should you defend, though? 

West North East South

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♥ Q

Here you are defending 3NT by West (on your 
left) and partner leads the ♥Q, Declarer gravely 
thanks his partner, takes the ♥A on table and 
leads a Diamond.

Now, many defenders are in too much of a 
hurry on hands like these. Anxious to gain the 
lead early (to return a Heart, presumably) they 
split their Diamond honours by putting in the ♦J.

This is wrong on so many levels. You cannot be 
denied a Diamond trick even if you play low. 
True, declarer might have ♦A 9 × and he might 
play the ♦9 – but equally he might have no 
such holding and he might do no such thing. 
He is not gifted with second sight – he has no 
idea how Diamonds are breaking.

Here, he makes the entirely reasonable play of 
leading a Diamond to the ♦A and playing a low 
one back towards the dummy. If the Diamonds 
were distributed in any other way then West 
could guarantee himself four Diamond tricks. As 
it is, though, he is holed below the waterline by 
the 4-1 split. He cannot avoid losing two 
Diamonds and three Hearts and is one off. 

Now suppose you were to split your honours at 
trick two. The ♦K kills your ♦J and partner’s ♦9 
(an important card) and now declarer can just 
run the ♦8 round to your ♦Q setting up the suit 
for four tricks. From the Western perspective 
the hand would be pianola – 3NT would make 
easily. 

In these positions you should leave the trick to 
partner. You are not a one-man army!
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www.vubridge.com

Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ AT952

♥ 87

♦ 85

♣ QT87

West

♠ 643

♥ QJ63

♦ QJT7

♣ KJ

East

♠ J7

♥ AK542

♦ AK32

♣ 64

South

♠ KQ8

♥ T9

♦ 964

♣ A9532

You watch the bidding as your opponents 
reach game in Hearts. 

You have an awkward lead. After that you 
have to think where four tricks might be 

coming from.

West North East South

- - - P

P P 1♥ P

3♥ P 4♥ P

P P

Lead: ♠ K

East opens 1♥ after three Passes with 15 points 
and a semi-balanced hand. When West 
raises to 3♥ he happily accepts the 
invitation and bids game. 

You decide to make the attacking lead of the ♠K 
from ♠K Q × and continue with the ♠Q after 
partner signals strong encouragement with the 
♠10. You may as well try your luck with a third 
round of Spades but declarer ruffs. 

Declarer draws trumps in two rounds and 
cashes his Diamonds, finishing in the closed 
hand. Now  comes the critical point of the hand 
as declarer plays the ♣4 towards dummy's ♣K J 

This is a key moment. You play the ♣3 as 
smoothly and calmly as you can. Playing the 
♣A would resolve declarer's guess in the suit. 
Even hesitating would tell declarer you have 
something to think about which may be clue 
enough in a situation which is a straight 50-50 
guess. 

This is an oft recurring situation at this game, 
the famous "King-Jack guess". 
 Defenders should do their thinking well in 
advance and not be caught on the hop at the 
critical moment. They should Count-Plan-
Execute as well as declarer. Here, you don't 
know North has the ♣Q but you lose nothing by 
hoping.

With nothing to go on except his horoscope 
declarer plays the ♣J from dummy and you are 
pleased to see partner win with the ♣Q. Another 
Club follows to your ♣A and declarer is one 
down. Yes, some days declarer will guess 
correctly and play dummy's ♣K and make his 
contract. If he does that: good luck to him – he 
will have earned his success.
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Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: West Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 864

♥ QJ8

♦ J8

♣ K8762

West

♠ 532

♥ A4

♦ QT973

♣ AQ4

East

♠ AKQ

♥ K952

♦ 652

♣ JT3

South

♠ JT97

♥ T763

♦ AK4

♣ 95

Another day, another 3NT contract. 

How should you defend this one?

West North East South

P P 1NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♠ J

East plays in 3NT on this deal and you have a 
ready-made lead of the ♠J. 

Declarer wins deceptively with the ♠K (although 
you suspect that he has the ♠A K Q by dint of 
the fact that partner followed at trick one with 
the ♠4, a discouraging card if ever there were 
one). East now sets about his long suit by 
leading a Diamond. 

There are many players who would grab the ♦K 
at this point – but where’s the sense in that? 
What’s the rush? Where’s the fire? Sure, 
declarer could take the trick with dummy’s ♦Q 
but he doesn’t know that. You can only help 
declarer if you defend by grabbing tricks. 

East's best shot is to finesse the ♦10, playing 
you for the ♦J. This is roughly a 50% shot to 
make three tricks whereas playing the ♦Q is 
25% or thereabouts. As the cards lie, East is 
unlucky. 

North (a surprised North) wins the ♦J and plugs 
away in Spades, eventually setting you up a 
long Spade. With the Club finesse wrong for 
East he now has too many losers (a Club, three 
Diamonds and a Spade) and goes one down. 

Remember – everything comes to he who 
waits.
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Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: East

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ A542

♥ 94

♦ T985

♣ A86

West

♠ 63

♥ AJ62

♦ 643

♣ Q732

East

♠ KQJ

♥ KQ753

♦ AK

♣ J54

South

♠ T987

♥ T8

♦ QJ72

♣ KT9

You watch your opponents bid to 4♥ in a 
straightforward auction. 

The defence depends on working out who 
has what cards and how you can stop 
declarer getting the trick he needs in a 
particular suit. 

West North East South

- P 1♥ P

2♥ P 4♥ P

P P

Lead: ♠ T

You (South) lead the ♠10 against 4♥ after your 
opponents  bid game via 1♥ – 2♥ – 4♥. 

Your partner wins the opening lead with the ♠A 
and returns a Spade, won by declarer with the 
♠Q. East draws two rounds of trumps finishing 
in hand with the ♥Q. Now comes the ♠K on 
which a Diamond is discarded from dummy. 
The ♦A K follow and then declarer plays the ♣4 
from hand towards dummy. 

This is the critical moment. You must play the 
♣9 (or the ♣10 if you feel strongly about it!) 
What you must not do is to grab the trick with 
the ♣K. 

Declarer has six tricks and has three trumps 
remaining (you know from the play that he 
started with five). So declarer only needs one 
trick from Clubs and if he has the ♣A there is 
nothing you can do; 4♥ is simply going to make. 

So you have to place partner with the ♣A. If 
partner also has the ♣J it doesn't matter 
what you do (declarer will lose three Clubs no 
matter what) so the critical case is 
where declarer has the ♣J.   

If you play the ♣K declarer will be left with the 
♣Q and the ♣J against partner's ♣A and be 
guaranteed a trick. If you correctly play the ♣9, 
though, dummy will be forced to cover with the 
♣Q. Partner can win with the ♣A and return a 
Club through declarer's ♣J × and declarer 
doesn't get a Club trick. (And you – the 
defence – make three). 

You defeat this contract because you count 
declarer's tricks and avoid grabbing tricks, a 
trap that many players fall into. 
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www.vubridge.com

Second Player Play; defensive problems

VB#14 Y2 Second Player Play ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ JT8

♥ QJT92

♦ T4

♣ K73

West

♠ A43

♥ K63

♦ K72

♣ QJ52

East

♠ KQ5

♥ A7

♦ A863

♣ T986

South

♠ 9762

♥ 854

♦ QJ95

♣ A4

You are (once again) defending on this deal, 

watching as the opposition sail into game.

How might you defeat West here?

West North East South

- - P P

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♥ Q

Once again you are defending a game, this 
time after a simple 1NT – 3NT sequence. 

Partner leads the ♥Q, surely the top-of-a-
sequence, and dummy wins with the ♥A before 
leading the ♣10. You need to decide whether to 
follow the old adage second player plays low.
Well, these phrases often provide sound 
guidance but they are not hard and fast rules. 

If you are going to defeat this contract it looks 
like you will need to make tricks in partner's 
Heart suit. Declarer must have the ♥K and you 
need to knock it out. There is much to be said 
for winning this trick with the ♣A and driving out 
the ♥K now. 

Partner will still need an entry to his Hearts but, 
if and when he gets in, the Hearts will be ready 
to go. It may be that partner's entry is in Clubs. 
If that is the case it is essential to play the ♣A 
now to preserve partner's entry. 

After you take the ♣A and play a Heart declarer 
can do nothing. West still needs to set up a 
Club trick or two and leads the suit again. 
Partner gleefully grabs this with the ♣K and 
then cashes sufficient Hearts to defeat the 
contract. Declarer sullenly claims the balance. 

Note what would have happened had you not
taken your ♣A. Partner would have taken the 
♣K and cleared the Hearts but – provided 
declarer ducks one round of Hearts – you would 
have no Heart to lead when in play with the ♣A. 
Contract made.
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