fﬂ} Vu-Bridge

Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive
hands. ACOL version

Contract: 3N
By: South
Board #: 1

Vulnerable: None

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL

Date: 07/10/2015
Dealer: North
Play this hand online!

North

® A2

v AK6

¢ AT732

» KJ4
West East
+ QT864 973
vT5 v QJ942
+QJ84 + Ké
& 82 & A63

South

& KI5

v 873
+95

* QT975

We return to an old theme. Old it might be
but it is very important.

The hoary adage "Second player
plays low" comes to us from the days of
whist. It gave sound advice to players of
that game as there was no exposed hand
(no dummy hand in other words) so
players had little idea of who had what.
What about bridge, with twenty-six cards
visible to each player? Does the advice
still hold good here? If so, why? If not,
why not?

Well, remember that the best position to
be in on any trick is the last player to play
(fourth hand, in other words). When you
are second player to any trick then your
partner will be the fourth player and, as
such, is in the best position. In general,
therefore, it is wise to leave the decision
up to him. You do this by playing low —
hence the Second player plays low adage.

In bridge, though, there are plenty of
exceptions to this "rule" and you should
be aware of them. Note that declarer
should not have to follow any rules,
regulations or old wives' tales — he can
see his side's assests and can plan
accordingly. It's the defenders who are
unsure of themselves and should, on
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West North East South
- 1e P INT
3NT P P
Lead: 4 6

Second hand low is often good advice,
applying to both the defenders and to the
declarer. But not always.

Here, North opens the bidding with 14 and, after
our innocent little 1NT response (and what else
could we respond on a miserable 6 points?) he
raises us to game. When we see the dummy
with its 19 points we understand why.

Our Count and Plan shows that we've got three
top Spade tricks (the opening lead around into
the 4K J 5 has given us a cheap trick in the
suit), two top Hearts, one top Diamond and no
top Clubs, but the rest of our tricks will come
from setting up the Clubs. If all works well,
we might even have an overtrick.

However... as ever we must look before we
leap or, in the case of all bridge hands, Count
and Plan before playing a card to trick one.

At trick 1, if we run the Spade lead into our K J
5, we will end up with no entry back to the
closed hand where the long Clubs reside. When
Spades are led again, we'll be trapped on the
table with the #A. Now, everything would be
fine and dandy if the opponents could be
persuaded to take the #A on the first or second
round but can we rely on their co-operation?
Given that we should never rely on the largesse
of the opposition It is best to give up the chance
for an overtrick and settle for just two Spade
tricks.

Note that we only need two Spade tricks for the
contract— we can count two Spades, two
Hearts, one Diamond and four Clubs for nine in
all.

So at trick one, we take the #A in dummy, and
start on the Clubs. Wretched East holds up his
#A until the third Club trick (good defence —
remember to do that to him when roles are
reversed!) and, at trick five, he returns his
partner's Spade lead.

This shows the wisdom of our second hand
high at trick one. We are able to win the lead in
hand with the #K (except for those of you who
tried for the guaranteed-to-fail Spade finesse),
and proceed to take our Club winners. We then
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balance, play low in second seat. This cash our two Hearts and our Diamond for our

series (and its brother, also in this edition) nine tricks.

will attempt to clarify when you should

follow the rules and when you should One additional point we'd like to make. For a

break them. moment, let's pretend that you've got 4A 3 2 in
dummy. If that were your holding opposite K J

Hand 1. We start with two declarer-play 5, you would indeed play second hand low at

hands just to set the scene. For the rest of trick one and run the Spade lead into the jaws

the deals you will be sitting in defence. How of the 4K J tenace. There would be no need not

should you play your game contract here? to go for that overtrick as the suit couldn't get
blocked.
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. Vll-Bl'lng West North East South

Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com - - P ]_NT

Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive
hands. ACOL version P 3NT P P

Contract: 3N
By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2 Lead: v 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: N/ S
Play this hand onlinel You open the bidding with 1INT and partner
raises that to 3NT. A low Heart lead from West
(the ¥6) reveals that you have reached a

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL

North hideous contract with only a small chance of
& K9 success.

v Q7

+ QJIT864 A Count of tricks shows there to be just six on
« A93 top (three Spades, no Hearts, one Diamond,

and two Clubs) so you will just have to bring in

West East the Diamonds. However, what are you going to
+ 7863 4 J742 do with the Heart suit after this opening lead? It
v AK362 v J43 is entirely likely that Hearts break 5-3 in which
¢ ¢ K95 case you are favourite to lose the first five Heart
21752 *QJ6 tricks. What is the correct card to play from
South dummy? High (the ¥Q) or low (the ¥7)?
* AQ5
v T?S Well, if you work it out it cannot cost to try the
s A732 vQ. True, this will only work if West has
& K84 underled the YA K but when will it be the wrong

thing to do? If West has led from, say, YK J 9 6
2 then playing the ¥7 from the table won't help.
How should you play an ambitious game contract on this  East, it is true, will be forced to play the YA but
hand? the defenders will still take the first five tricks.
Desperation play it may well be but trying the
¥Q is your only chance.

This is another declarer-play deal.

In passing, note that playing low from table
would be the correct play had dummy held ¥Q
7 5 and you had ¥10 8. Now you would have a
Heart trick if West had led from a suit headed
by the YA J or the ¥K J, giving two chances
against the one of playing the ¥Q and hoping
West held the vA K and others.

Back to the plot... to your surprise and relief the
¥Q holds the trick. Now “all” you need to do is
to pull in the Diamonds without loss. What is the
right play here? Cash the ¢A, hoping that the ¢K
falls singleton or run the ¢Q, hoping East has
the offending ¢K?

Well, with ten cards missing the King the
finesse is much the superior play. It works 50%
of the time whereas playing the ¢A (hoping that
the ¢K falls) works only half as often. So you
run the ¢Q (fully aware that — should it lose —
3NT is in danger of being hit with an avalanche
of Hearts). However, mirabile dictu, it wins. The
bridge gods are positively grinning at you today.
With West showing out you can finesse the
Diamonds again and run the suit.
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Astonishingly you emerge with twelve (count
them, twelve) tricks and cannot complain about
bad luck for at least a month.
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive

hands. ACOL version

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL

Contract: 3N

By: East
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3
Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online!
North
& KT743
v3
¢+ QJ985
» J4
West East
+ AQb 278
v 642 v AKQ3
¢+ KT ¢ A732
* QT962 * 873
South
4 952
v JT975
¢ 64
» AK5

You are defending now.

What is your assessment of the early play?
How might you defend this hand?
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West North East South
- - - P
P P INT P
2NT P 3NT P
P P
Lead: v J

You defend against 3NT and have an easy vJ
lead. Declarer wins the YA while North follows
with the ¥8. Have you found a devastating
opening lead? Is that ¥8 showing
encouragement?

Anyway, East plays a Club at trick two and it’s
up to you...

Well you shouldn’t rush in with the #K and fire
back another Heart, that’s for sure. Where’s the
fire? (By which we mean, what's the rush?)
Partner cannot hold either YK Q 8 x or vK Q 8.
With the former declarer would have opened
INT with a singleton Ace and with the latter
your partner would have unblocked the Hearts
by playing the ¥Q on your vJ. Best is to keep
your powder dry and play a small Club - in
tempo.

Declarer is not gifted with second sight. His
best play in Clubs is to finesse against the &J,
pulling in the suit for three tricks whenever you
hold the Jack. Here, North wins the #J and
things are starting to unravel for East.

North surprises you by switching to the ¢Q. This
suggests that his ¥8 at trick one was not an
encouraging card (or he would have cleared
Hearts). Declarer wins the 4K on table and
plugs away in Clubs, so you take the #K and
return partner's Diamonds (playing another
Heart would be terrible defence). Declarer wins
the ¢A and finally establishes the Clubs, partner
signalling vehemently with the #10.

With that guiding light you play a Spade and
declarer does his best by taking the #A and
cashing his eight tricks for one off.
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) !““F'[',ggf West  North East South
www.vubridge.com 3* P 4* P
Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive
hands. ACOL version P P
VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL g°_"m”: 45 Lead: v Q
y: West
1;::;:7‘;212015 3:;’;1': . | West opens with a slightly cheeky pre-
Play this hand online! emptive 34. (He can only see six tricks in his
own hand and he is vulnerable) and East raises
that to 4. You know that West is likely to have
North seven good Spades and not much outside —
A dummy has plenty for his raise to game.
v QJTI For once your partner finds a devastating
¢ 7984 opening lead — the ¥Q. Declarer, realising his
* KJT82 ¥K is a dead duck, plays low to the first two
West East tricks and allows you to take trick three with the
& AK96542 2 J73 YA. So you are off to a good start; all you need
v 532 v K87 now is one more frick. You switch to a Club and
+ 63 + AKQ let declarer get on with it. Having taken the #A
*6 & A753 on dummy, declarer now leads the #J off the
table — how should you defend?
South
+ QT8 Holding the #Q 10 (not to mention the 48) it
v Ab4 may seem “automatic” to cover the #J with the
¢ 1752 #Q. It isn’t — it's the wrong play. West has
* Q94 seven Spades — so North has none. How can
You are defending against a rapidly bid covering the &J help your cause? What would
contract here. happen is that declarer would take the 4K,
observe your partner's void, cross to the
What are your thought processes? dummy and finesse the 49. Game over.

How might you make the right number of West has no intention of running the #J; he is

defensive tricks? trying a con-play. Look at it from his
perspective. All he needs to do to make his
contract is to play for a 2-1 Spade break. So he
should lay down the #A K and claim his game
78% of the time (when trumps behave).

However, it costs him nothing to lead the &J off
the dummy just to see the effect. If you were to
play low he would revert to Plan A (cashing the
#A K). If you were to make the egregious play
of covering, though, then West would be able to
call on Plan B and pick up the 3-0 break.

Just as well you didn’t give the game away by

covering or by staring at the ceiling and then
playing low after about ten minutes...
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive

hands. ACOL version

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL

Contract: 3N

By: East
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5
Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / 5
Play this hand online!
North
& KT98
v 973
¢+ 54
* Q752
West East
* QJ4 & AB2
v AKT84 v 62
¢ T98 ¢ AQ762
* 93 » AJ8
South
4763
v QJ5
¢ KJ3
» KT64

You are defending (again) and have to defeat

3NT.

What are your plans?
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West North East South
- P 1e P
1v P INT P
3NT P P P
Lead: & 4

You defend 3NT by leading the #4 to the #Q
from North and declarer's #A. Partner’s play of
the #Q denies the #J so you know East started
with the #A J (and probably at least one other).

Declarer’s first play is a Heart towards dummy.
What should you do?

Well, many defenders in this position split their
honours, arguing that East will put in the ¥10 if
they don’t. This is wrong on so many levels.
East is nervous about the Clubs and — as we
have said so often — cannot see through the
backs of the cards.

Playing the 10 is dangerous for East — should
North win and fire a Club through the remaining
&J x 3NT might well fail. East, in fact, has his
focus on a completely different plan. He aims to
make his tricks in Diamonds, taking the
finesses into your hand. Should the first
Diamond finesse lose he is safe from a Club
attack from your hand.

So East takes dummy’s ¥K and runs the ¢10
into your hand. You take the ¢J and have to find
a play. Leading Clubs again is out of the
question (it would only be right if East started
with #A J alone) so you find a Spade switch.
Declarer puts on the #Q, covered by the 4K and
#A. East now crosses to the YA and runs the
49. Had the missing Diamond honours been
split then East would make four Diamond tricks
and the contract. Nope, not today.

You win the ¢K and plug away in Spades,
partner signalling encouragement with the #10.
East can make no more than eight tricks now
and has to surrender.

Yes, 3NT would have made had East put in the
¥10 at trick two. However, he is not psychic —
he couldn’t have known that. Had you split your
honours, though, he might have woken up to
the actual distribution and made his game.

file:///C:/Users/user/Documents/_VuBridge/Spooler/_Session_2465_... 07/10/2015



Page 2 sur 2

file:///C:/Users/user/Documents/_VuBridge/Spooler/_Session_2465_... 07/10/2015



Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Two declarer play hands, four defensive

hands. ACOL version

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 ACOL

Contract: 3N

By: West
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online!
North
& 798
v AKJ75
¢ 52
» 873
West East
2 AQ7 4 KJ5
vy QT3 v 96
+ AQ6 ¢ KJ974
* Q642 » K95
South
4 6432
v 842
¢ T83
* AJT

Some defending is easy — you just sit calmly
on your chair and wait for declarer to go

down.

On some deals, though, you need to put your
thinking cap on and do something clever.

Which category does this deal fit into?
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West North East South
- - P P
1% P le P
INT P 3NT P
P P
Lead: v A

After West shows a balanced 15-16 points,
partner leads the YA against 3NT. Against a
No-trump contract, that should mean a
sequence of three, which can be broken at the
bottom. North should have a suit headed by the
either the YA K Q or the YA K J.

Before we start our own analysis, let's look at it
from the declarer's point of view. He sees three
Spade tricks and five Diamonds for sure. He
has little hope for his ¥Q. His ninth trick is going
to have to come from a Club. He is praying that
either the #A is in North (his safe opponent), or
if it is in South (that's us!), we will foolishly play
second hand low.

At trick one, we signal discouragement by
playing the 2. Partner switches to the #10 at
trick two.

We have two small gems of information. First,
North does not hold the ¥Q. Otherwise he'd still
be firing away. Second, A count of points shows
that North has 8-9. We now know that he has
the YA K J (8 points) so he has at most one
Jack outside his suit. But, Dr Watson, we can
see them all! Therefore, North doesn't have a
stitch outside his suit.

We now think how we can set the contract.
Declarer smartly takes the trick in dummy with
his 4K, and at trick three, tries to steal his ninth
trick by leading a Club toward his #Q, looking
innocent and a little bored.

As we know, the bridge gods pay no more
attention to us than the golf gods. We
violate the ancient second hand low law, pop
up with our #A, and then lead the ¥8. Why the
v8? That's routine play with just two cards
remaining.

End result? We take the #A and five Heart
tricks. Another law violation...
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