fﬂ} Vu-Bridge

Play like a Champion
www.vubridge.com
Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL g;"g;* SN
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1
Dealer: North Vulnerable: None
Play this hand online!
North
e J2
v QJT85
¢ K8
* QJ64
West East
s AK * Q76
v 92 v AK7
¢+ QJT95 ¢ 7642
& AK97 » 832
South
« T98543
v 643
¢+ A3
& TH5

The old adage "Second player plays low"
comes to us from the days of whist. It
gave sound advice to players of that game
as there was no dummy hand so players
had little idea of who had what. What
about bridge, with twenty-six cards visible
to each player? Does the advice still hold
good here? If so, why? If not, why not?

Well, remember that the best position to
be in on any trick is the last player to play
(fourth hand, in other words). When you
are second player to any trick then your
partner will be the fourth player and, will
be in the best position. In general,
therefore, it is wise to leave the decision
up to him. You do this by playing low —
hence the Second player plays low adage.

In bridge, though, there are plenty of
exceptions to this "rule" and you should
be aware of them. This series (and an
earlier series, also in this edition) will
attempt to clarify when you should follow
the rules and when you should break
them.
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West North East South
- P P P
1le 1v INT P
2NT 3NT P
p
Lead: v 4

Let's start our postmortem by looking at the
hand from East's point of view. He's declarer in
3NT and can see three Spades, two Hearts and
two Clubs to begin with and he plans
to establish the Diamonds for three ftricks,
giving him a total of ten winners. He's got lots of
stoppers everywhere, and sees victory in his
crystal ball.

However (the best laid plans of mice and
men...) we have other plans. This is essentially
a tempo hand in that we can get our suit going
(Hearts) before declarer can get his suit going
(Diamonds). The fact that we get the opening
lead is all-important — we get to go first in the
race. The problem we have in the defence is
not to isolate the Heart suit in the North hand.

Our immediate defensive Count and Plan
figures North for 10-11 points and declarer for
about 8-9.

A glance at the dummy tells us that declarer is
likely to use those Diamonds as a source of
tricks. Declarer takes trick one in his hand with
the ¥K and immediately leads a low Diamond
at trick two. Decision time!

Our ¢A is our only entry, which means we only
have one chance to lead to partner. Visualise
with us what happens if we don't play our ¢A
now.

Partner will end up taking the trick in his hand
with the ¢K, and of course he'll lead a Heart.
Declarer will duck the trick, and hold up till the
third Heart trick to play his ¥A. Now, when he
plays his next Diamond, and we take the trick,
we have no Heart left to return to partner.

Having seen the problem, we come up with the
counterplay. Rather than waste partner's
precious entry, we go up with our ¢A at trick two
and smartly return a Heart. Declarer is doomed.
He forlornly holds up for a round but knows his
cause is a hopeless one. He can count points
too, and knows where the ¢Kiis.

We end up taking three Heart tricks and the ¢A
and ¢K. Second player plays low? Maybe,
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maybe not.
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) !““F'[',ggf West  North East South
www.vubridge.com _ _ ZNT P
Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding 3NT p p p
VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL g"f‘*‘""d’ SN Lead: v T
y: East
1;::;:2/:;/2015 3‘::;1:N /. | We have to make the opening lead, and it
Play this hand online! brings home an important point. When you
have no compelling lead (like partner's suit or a
good five-card suit) and you are sitting
over a big hand, you don't want to lead away
North " ;
* Q65 from your honours. It's time for a passive lead.
v I63 Note that a Spade lead would give declarer two
952 Spade tricks (but only if he played second hand
!
» ATB4 low...l)
West East In this case, fop of a sequence is perfect. Other
4 T72 4 AT4 passive leads include leading trumps but in a
v 52 v AKQ4 No-trump contract, well....
¢ AJT74 ¢+ 63
% 976 * KQJ3 When the dummy comes down, we take time to
South "Look at the dummy, dummy" and we see a
# K983 long suit that should produce a number of tricks
v TO87 for declarer and is well-placed for East as the
+ KQ8 Diamond honours lie over the top of ours.
252 Ouch.
On this hand (and on the next) you are on  Declarer has nowhere to go but Diamonds for
opening lead. his nine tricks. When he leads a Diamond at

trick two, we have a decision to make. The
reflex play may be to "split your honours" and
play the ¢Q (or the ¢K if you feel strongly about
it). However, if declarer reads the hand
accurately he will duck this and subsequently
be in a position to finesse the Diamonds on the
next round and make four Diamond tricks. This
you cannot afford.

Firstly you have to lead. Secondly, you have
to be patient. Can you manage that?

So you have to bite your lip and play a low
Diamond on this trick, allowing the ¢10 to score
the trick. Declarer will then try to make some
tricks out of Clubs, playing to the #J. Partner
ducks, of course (second hand low, you may
note).

Declarer tries a second Diamond, on which you
have to split, winning the ¢A. Another Club is
led and, again your partner ducks his A (had
partner played his #A "on thin air" he would
have made declarer's life oh-so-easy).

Declarer is in a horrible position now — he has
to hope that Clubs are 3-3 or that you will chuck
a Heart away. When these chances fail to
materialise he is down.

Bad luck, East...
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) !““F'[',ggf West  North East South
www.vubridge.com _ _ ZNT P
Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding 3NT p p p
VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL §°_""°d’ N Lead: v T
y: East
1;::;:2/:;/2015 3::’:;:::E/W Same bidding, same lead, same hand... well,
Play this hand online! nearly a clone of Hand 2. Very nearly. East-
West bid to 3NT and we prefer the passive ¥10
lead to 3NT rather than the attacking 3. Again,
the Heart lead gives nothing away but the
North .
Spade lead would have given declarer an
® Q65 o
undeserved second trick in Spades.
v J63
+ Q95 :
» ATB4 When the dummy is exposed, we take a few
seconds to "Look at the dummy, dummy" and
West East we see a long suit that should produce a source
4T72 4 AT4 of tricks for declarer. We note, with some
v 52 v AKQ4 anxiety, that if declarer has the ¢Q our ¢K is as
*+ ATT74 +63 dead as a dodo and that five Diamond tricks are
% 976 * KQJ3 going to fall into declarer's lap.
South
eiug% However.. declarer wins the Heart lead and
v T987 tries the ¢3, which suggests that he doesn't
+ K82 have the ¢Q. (If he had it, he'd lead it — surely?)
252 In order to grasp the killer defence, we need to

take a second and see the hand from declarer's
This deal is another of those eerie VUBridge Vantage point_ He sees one Spade trick’ three
deals that looks jUSt like the preViOUS one. Hearts and one Diamond. He p|ans on using
Odd that. a combination finesse on the Diamonds,
knowing that two missing honours usually split
(like they have on this hand). He should get the
rest of his tricks from the Diamonds.

So here you are again, on lead to 3NT with a
collection of cards that looks just like the last
one.

When he leads a Diamond at trick 2, we have a
big decision to make. We decide to play second
hand high because:

There is a small difference, though. Is it a
significant one?

1. Declarer didn't lead the ¢Q, strongly
suggesting to us that it is in partner's hand.

2. If we play the ¢K, it will knock out the ¢A,
which is declarer's only entry to the dummy, if
we are right about the placement of the ¢Q.

This play looks so against the natural order of
things that the position requires further study. If
you don't play the ¢K then declarer has a cake-
walk. He loses the first finesse to North's ¢Q but
then has the suit all poised and ready to take
four tricks at his convenience. Your ¢K is now
worthless, whatever you do on the second
round.

If you do play the ¢K the declarer is in a horrible
position. Whatever he does (wins it or ducks it)
his entries and communications have been shot
to rubble. Your play wouldn't be worth a tinker's
cuss if dummy had an outside entry but here it
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doesn't. The Diamonds are wrecked and so is
the contract.

Well, as we've so often told you, good things
happen to people who do good things. Our plan
works, and the rest of the hand is just a matter
of taking our tricks as they come along.

Now the contrast between Hands 2 and 3 is
important and most players would do the wrong
thing on both of them. Not you, of course — but
maybe your partners would.
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) !““F'[',ggf West  North East South
www.vubridge.com 1’ P IQ P
Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding INT p 4a p
P P
VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL g\‘;"‘gﬂ"sﬁ: 45
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4 Lead: & T
Dealer: West Vulnerable: All
Play this hand online! West opens 1¢ and rebids 1INT to show a
balanced 15-16 points. East, holding a fine
Spade suit and 10 points, tries his luck with 44,
North
@ A5 With a Club sequence (the #10 9 8) we decide
v KT84 to lead that suit, hoping to lead through some
+ K98 vulnerable honours on the table. Nope, not
*» 7542 today, although the lead gives nothing away to
declarer.
West East
4762 + KQJT83 First, let's look at this from the declarer's point
v QJ5 v 62 of view. In 44 he's got a Spade loser, two Heart
* AQ62 +J3 losers and one possible Diamond loser. He's
* AK6 *QJ3 hoping to set up a Heart trick as a place to
South dump a loser in hand; if he can't do that he'll
* 94 fall back on the Diamond finesse.
v A973
+ T754 As South we figure partner for 10 points at
* T98 most, and with his honours behind the big

hand, we may have a chance to set this. We
just need to know which honours he has, if any.
Of course, declarer could easily have all the
missing high cards for his 44 bid and game
could be easy.

The bidding here has the opponents sailing
into game.

Still, can you gather together sufficient
evidence to plan the defeat of declarer?

Our Big Moment comes when declarer,
after drawing trumps, leads a Heart to establish
a slow trick there and provide a dumping
ground. What cards might partner hold to beat
44? We know that we have no Club trick and
only one Spade trick. What red honours will
allow us to take four tricks in defence?

The answer is that North must have the ¥K and
the ¢K and to take advantage of that we must
play second hand high in order to fire a
Diamond through the dummy.

With partner still holding the ¥K as an entry, it
makes no difference should declarer go up with
his ¢A. Because we rose with the YA to fire
through a Diamond he cannot make 44. In
practice, our defence forces declarer to try the
Diamond finesse. Bad luck, sir. Not today.

Now, let's visualise what would happen if we
were to play low on the first round of
Hearts. North would take the trick and would
have no lead. Even if he led a Heart back to us,
it would be too little too late, as indeed dummy's
¥Q would now be established to take care of
the Diamond loser.
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So, is it time to ignore all these maxims? (No,
but treat them with a certain respect and a
certain amount of wariness).
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Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding

Contract: 6H

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL

By: East
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5
Dealer: North Vulnerable: N/ S
Play this hand online!
North
& JT764
v 63
+ Q62
* 752
West East
& K82 & AQ
v A85 v KQJT72
¢ KJ973 ¢+ T85
* K8 * A9

South

« 953

v 94

¢+ A4

& QJT643

Here you are defending a high-level contract.
How might declarer not make his contract?

The key here is fo do your thinking in

advance.
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West North East South
- P 1v P
2¢ P 3v P
ANT P 5v P
6v P P P
Lead: # Q

East-West blast their way into a fair but not
great slam. After your #Q lead against 6v¥ the
whole contract depends on making a trick in
Diamonds (or not losing two Diamond tricks — it
amounts to the same thing).

It would be a very poor shot to lead the ¢A from
your hand at trick one, by the way. Leading
Aces against a slam is not bad practice in
general (it's right sometimes, wrong other
times) but it's not a good idea when the suit has
been bid on your left. This suitis likely to be
declarer's source of tricks and so you you
should be unwilling to surrender control in it.

Declarer wins the #K on table, draws takes a
round of trumps, unblocks the #A Q, goes back
to table with the YA and pitches a Diamond on
the #K. Now he returns to his hand with the #A
and leads the ¢10 towards dummy.

Crisis time. Do you/Don't you take the ¢A?
Well, by now you know that this is a classic
"King-Jack guess". Declarer has no way of
knowing what to do if you play low smoothly on
the ¢10. East is on a 50-50 shot for his
contract — provided you don't help him in any
way.

If you were to play the ¢A East would spread
his cards and claim the rest. Oops! If you were
to play small without a flicker declarer wouldn't
know what to do — and half the time he would
choose to play you for the Q.

Note that staring at the 10, shuffling
uncomfortably around, gazing at the ceiling,
consulting with an invisible oracle and other
foolish practices can only help declarer divine
the position. [And NO, you are not permitted to
perform all these histrionics if you don't have
the ¢A — that will get you banned from a Bridge
Club faster than if you'd parked your car on the
chairman's foof].

Now, at the table you have to think fast.
Actually, you should train yourself to think in
advance. It isn't difficult to see that declarer is
going to lead a Diamond towards dummy
sometime in the hand. Your thought processes



Page 2 sur 2

must be directed towards that key question: Will
I play the ¢A or not? When the time comes you
are ready for it and can play with the right
degree of nonchalance.

Note that on this hand you have no chance of a
trick in any other suit. Accordingly, your only
hope is to make two Diamond tricks and the
only hope of that is a misguess by declarer.
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Vu-Bridge

" Play like a Champion WeST Nor‘th EGS"’ SOU"'h
www.vubridge.com _ _ 1' P
Second hand play. Six defensive hands. ACOL bidding 24 p 3v p
ANT P v P
VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 ACOL g;"’g;? eH 6v P P P
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online! Lead: # J
East-West blast their way into a poor slam.
After your #J lead (better in principle than the
North #A after this bidding) the whole contract
® JT764 depends on a miracle lie in Diamonds or on a
v 63 defensive mistake. The miracle lie in Diamonds,
+ QT8 by the way, is to hope that you (South) started
4752 with ¢A Q alone. Possible, but you wouldn't
West East want to bet your house on it, would you?
& K82 4 A9
v A85 v KQJIT72 Anyway, declarer wins the #Q, draws takes two
+ K9763 + J52 rounds of trumps, plays three rounds of
& K8 * AQ Spades, ruffing the third round in hand, cashes
South the #A (crashing the &K on the table) and then
o leads a Diamond.
+ Q53
v 94 Crisis time. Do you/Don't you take the ¢A?
¢ Al Well, does it matter? Declarer has two losing
» JT9643 ’

Diamonds anyway, whatever South does. Look
This deal looks suspiciously like Hand 5. again. Suppose you (as South) play a low

Diamond. Declarer has no choice but to play
Do you get that odd feeling that you've seen  the 4K and to play another Diamond. You win
this hand, these opponents, this bidding with the ¢+A and play...? Well you only have
before...? Spooky. Clubs left so that's not a difficult question. You
play a Club — any Club. Unfortunately that gives
declarer a ruff-and-discard and is usually good
news only for declarer.

However, does that mean that you should
defend the deal in the same way as you did
before?

East will gleefully ruff with dummy's last trump
and will throw away his last Diamond. His hand
will consist only of winning trumps. Partner will
sorrowfully shake his head as his "certain"
winning Diamond (the ¢Q) will sleep with the
fishes tonight.

If so, why? If not, why not?

How can you avoid this ignominy? By not
playing second player low. There isn't a guess
for declarer to get wrong and the play so far
makes it clear that declarer started with two
Spades, two Clubs, six Hearts and three
Diamonds.

In a way, playing second hand high was an
unblocking action, hoping to set up a possible
winner in partner's hand. If we had ¢A x x, we
would have played second hand low.

The contrast between Hand 7 and Hand 8 is

subtle yet still distinct. What you need to do is
to keep your wits about you.
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