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Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 SA
Contract: 3N
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North
♠ J2
♥ QJT85
♦ K8
♣ QJ64

West
♠ AK
♥ 92
♦ QJT95
♣ AK97

East
♠ Q76
♥ AK7
♦ 7642
♣ 832

South
♠ T98543
♥ 643
♦ A3
♣ T5

The old adage "Second player plays low" 
comes to us from the days of whist. It 
gave sound advice to players of that game 
as there was no dummy hand so players 
had little idea of who had what. What 
about bridge, with twenty-six cards visible 
to each player? Does the advice still hold 
good here? If so, why? If not, why not? 

Well, remember that the best position to 
be in on any trick is the last player to play 
(fourth hand, in other words). When you 
are second player to any trick then your 
partner will be the fourth player and, will 
be in the best position. In general, 
therefore, it is wise to leave the decision 
up to him. You do this by playing low – 
hence the Second player plays low adage. 

In bridge, though, there are plenty of 
exceptions to this "rule" and you should 
be aware of them.  This series (and an 
earlier series, also in this edition) will 
attempt to clarify when you should follow 
the rules and when you should break 
them. 

West North East South

- P P P

1♦ 1♥ 1NT P

2NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♥ 4

Let's start our postmortem by looking at the 
hand from East's point of view. He's declarer in 
3NT and can see three Spades, two Hearts and 
two Clubs to begin with and he plans 
to establish the Diamonds for three tricks, 
giving him a total of ten winners. He's got lots of 
stoppers everywhere, and sees victory in his 
crystal ball. 

However (the best laid plans of mice and 
men...) we have other plans. This is essentially 
a tempo hand in that we can get our suit going 
(Hearts) before declarer can get his suit going 
(Diamonds). The fact that we get the opening 
lead is all-important – we get to go first in the 
race. The problem we have in the defense is 
not to isolate the Heart suit in the North hand. 

Our immediate defensive Count and Plan
figures North for 10-11 points and declarer for 
about 8-9. 

A glance at the dummy tells us that declarer will 
most likely use those Diamonds as a source of 
tricks. Declarer takes trick one in his hand with 
the ♥K and immediately leads a low Diamond 
at trick two. Decision time! 

Our ♦A is our only entry, which means we only 
have one chance to lead to partner. Visualize 
with us what happens if we don't play our ♦A 
now. 

Partner will end up taking the trick in his hand 
with the ♦K, and of course he'll lead a Heart. 
Declarer will duck the trick, and hold up till the 
third Heart trick to play his ♥A. Now, when he 
plays his next Diamond, and we take the trick, 
we have no Heart left to return to partner. 

Having seen the problem, we come up with the 
counterplay. Rather than waste partner's 
precious entry, we go up with our ♦A at trick two 
and smartly return a Heart. Declarer is doomed. 
He forlornly holds up for a round but knows his 
cause is a hopeless one. He can count points 
too, and knows where the ♦K is. 

We end up taking three Heart tricks and the ♦A 
and ♦K. Second player plays low? Maybe, 
maybe not. 
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www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 (SA Version)
Contract: 3N
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 2
Dealer: East Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North
♠ Q65
♥ J63
♦ 952
♣ AT84

West
♠ T72
♥ 52
♦ AJT74
♣ 976

East
♠ AJ4
♥ AKQ4
♦ 63
♣ KQJ3

South
♠ K983
♥ T987
♦ KQ8
♣ 52

On this hand (and on the next) you are on 
opening lead. 

Firstly you have to lead. Secondly, you have 
to be patient. Can you manage that? 

West North East South

- - 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♥ T

We have to make the opening lead, and it 
brings home an important point. When you 
have no compelling lead (like partner's suit or a 
good five-card suit) and you are sitting 
over a big hand, you don't want to lead away 
from your honors. It's time for a passive lead. 
Note that a Spade lead would give declarer two 
Spade tricks (but only if he played second hand 
low...!)

In this case, top of a sequence is perfect. Other 
passive leads include leading trumps but in a 
No-trump contract, well.... 

When the dummy comes down, we take time to 
"Look at the dummy, dummy" and we see a 
long suit that should produce a number of tricks 
for declarer and is well-placed for East as the 
Diamond honors lie over the top of ours. Ouch. 

Declarer has nowhere to go but Diamonds for 
his nine tricks. When he leads a Diamond at 
trick two, we have a decision to make. The 
reflex play may be to "split your honors" and 
play the ♦Q (or the ♦K if you feel strongly about 
it). However, if declarer reads the hand 
accurately he will duck this and subsequently 
be in a position to finesse the Diamonds on the 
next round and make four Diamond tricks. This 
you cannot afford. 

So you have to bite your lip and play a low 
Diamond on this trick, allowing the ♦10 to score 
the trick. Declarer will then try to make some 
tricks out of Clubs, playing to the ♣J. Partner 
ducks, of course (second hand low, you may 
note). 

Declarer tries a second Diamond, on which you 
have to split, winning the ♦A. Another Club is 
led and, again your partner ducks his ♣A (had 
partner played his ♣A "on thin air" he would 
have made declarer's life oh-so-easy). 

Declarer is in a horrible position now – he has 
to hope that Clubs are 3-3 or that you will chuck 
a Heart away. When these chances fail to 
materialize he is down. 

Bad luck, East... 
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www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 (SA Version)
Contract: 3N
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 3
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North
♠ Q65
♥ J63
♦ Q95
♣ AT84

West
♠ T72
♥ 52
♦ AJT74
♣ 976

East
♠ AJ4
♥ AKQ4
♦ 63
♣ KQJ3

South
♠ K983
♥ T987
♦ K82
♣ 52

This deal is another of those eerie VuBridge 
deals that looks just like the previous one. 
Odd that. 

So here you are again, on lead to 3NT with a 
collection of cards that looks just like the last 
one. 

There is a small difference, though. Is it a 
significant one? 

West North East South

- - 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♥ T

Same bidding, same lead, same hand... well, 
nearly a clone of Hand 2. Very nearly. East-
West bid to 3NT and we prefer the passive ♥10 
lead to 3NT rather than the attacking ♠3. Again, 
the Heart lead gives nothing away but the 
Spade lead would have given declarer an 
undeserved second trick in Spades.

When the dummy is exposed, we take a few 
seconds to "Look at the dummy, dummy" and 
we see a long suit that should produce a source 
of tricks for declarer. We note, with some 
anxiety, that if declarer has the ♦Q our ♦K is 
toast and that five Diamond tricks are going to 
fall into declarer's lap.

However.. declarer wins the Heart lead and 
tries the ♦3, which suggests that he doesn't 
have the ♦Q. (If he had it, he'd lead it – surely?) 
In order to grasp the killer defense, we need to 
take a second and see the hand from declarer's 
vantage point. He sees one Spade trick, three 
Hearts and one Diamond. He plans on using 
a combination finesse on the Diamonds, 
knowing that two missing honors usually split 
(like they have on this hand). He should get the 
rest of his tricks from the Diamonds. 

When he leads a Diamond at trick 2, we have a 
big decision to make. We decide to play second 
hand high because: 

1. Declarer didn't lead the ♦Q, strongly 
suggesting to us that it is in partner's hand. 

2. If we play the ♦K, it will knock out the ♦A, 
which is declarer's only entry to the dummy, if 
we are right about the placement of the ♦Q. 

This play looks so against the natural order of 
things that the position requires further study. If 
you don't play the ♦K then declarer has a cake-
walk. He loses the first finesse to North's ♦Q but 
then has the suit all poised and ready to take 
four tricks at his convenience. Your ♦K is now 
worthless, whatever you do on the second 
round. 

If you do play the ♦K the declarer is in a horrible 
position. Whatever he does (wins it or ducks it) 
his entries and communications have been shot 
to rubble. Your play wouldn't be worth a tinker's 
cuss if dummy had an outside entry but here it 
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doesn't. The Diamonds are wrecked and so is 
the contract. 

Well, as we've so often told you, good things 
happen to people who do things good. Our plan 
works, and the rest of the hand is just a matter 
of taking our tricks as they come along. 

Hard work, big payoff. 3NT makes if we play 
second hand low. 

Now the contrast between Hands 2 and 3 is 
important and most players would do the wrong 
thing on both of them. Not you, of course – but 
maybe your partners would. 
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www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 2 SA
Contract: 4S
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 4

Dealer: West Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North
♠ A5
♥ KT84
♦ K98
♣ 7542

West
♠ 762
♥ QJ5
♦ AQ62
♣ AK6

East
♠ KQJT83
♥ 62
♦ J3
♣ QJ3

South
♠ 94
♥ A973
♦ T754
♣ T98

The bidding is sadly uninformative. 

Still, can you gather together sufficient 
evidence to plan the defeat of declarer here? 

West North East South

1NT P 4♠ P

P P

Lead: ♣ T

West opens 1NT and East, holding a fine 
Spade suit and 10 points, tries his luck with 4♠. 

With a Club sequence (the ♣10 9 8) we decide 
to lead that suit, hoping to lead through some 
vulnerable honors on the table. Nope, not 
today, although the lead gives nothing away to 
declarer. 

First, let's look at this from the declarer's point 
of view. In 4♠ he's got a Spade loser, two Heart 
losers and one possible Diamond loser. He's 
hoping to promote a Heart as a place to dump
a loser in hand; if he can't do that he'll fall back 
on the Diamond finesse. 

As South we figure partner for 10 points at 
most, and with his honors behind the big hand, 
we may have a chance to set this. We just need 
to know which honors he has, if any. Of course, 
declarer could easily have all the missing high 
cards for his 4♠ bid and game could be easy. 

Our Big Moment comes when declarer, after 
pulling trumps, leads a Heart to promote 
dummy's and provide a dumping ground. What 
cards might partner hold to beat 4♠? We know 
that we have no Club trick and only one Spade 
trick. What red honors will allow us to take four 
tricks in defense? 

The answer is that North must have the ♥K and 
the ♦K and to take advantage of that we must 
play second hand high in order to fire a 
Diamond through the dummy. 

With partner still holding the ♥K as an entry, it 
makes no difference should declarer go up with 
his ♦A. Because we rose with the ♥A to fire 
through a Diamond he cannot make 4♠. In 
practice, our defense forces declarer to try the 
Diamond finesse. Bad luck, sir. Not today. 

Now, let's visualize what would happen if we 
were to play low on the first round of 
Hearts. North would take the trick and would 
have no lead. Even if he led a Heart back to us, 
it would be too little too late, as indeed dummy's 
♥Q would now be established to take care of 
the Diamond loser. 

So, is it time to ignore all these maxims? (No, 
but treat them with a certain respect and a 
certain amount of wariness). 
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www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 (SA Version)
Contract: 6H
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 5
Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North
♠ JT764
♥ 63
♦ Q62
♣ 752

West
♠ K82
♥ A85
♦ KJ973
♣ K8

East
♠ AQ
♥ KQJT72
♦ T85
♣ A9

South
♠ 953
♥ 94
♦ A4
♣ QJT643

Here you are defending a high-level contract. 
How might declarer not make his contract? 

The key here is to do your thinking in 
advance. 

West North East South

- P 1♥ P

2♦ P 3♥ P

4NT P 5♥ P

6♥ P P P

Lead: ♣ Q

East-West blast their way into a fair but not 
great slam. After your ♣Q lead against 6♥ the 
whole contract depends on making a trick in 
Diamonds (or not losing two Diamond tricks – it 
amounts to the same thing). 

It would be a very poor shot to lead the ♦A from 
your hand at trick one, by the way. Leading 
Aces against a slam is not bad practice in 
general (it's right sometimes, wrong other 
times) but it's not a good idea when the suit has 
been bid on your left. This suit is likely to be 
declarer's source of tricks and so you you 
should be unwilling to surrender control in it.

Declarer wins the ♣K on table, draws takes a 
round of trumps, unblocks the ♠A Q, goes back 
to table with the ♥A and pitches a Diamond on 
the ♠K. Now he returns to his hand with the ♣A 
and leads the ♦10 towards dummy. 

Crisis time. Do you/Don't you take the ♦A? 
Well, by now you know that this is a classic 
"King-Jack guess". Declarer has no way of 
knowing what to do if you play low smoothly on 
the ♦10. East is on a 50-50 shot for his 
contract – provided you don't help him in any 
way. 

If you were to play the ♦A East would spread 
his cards and claim the rest. Oops! If you were 
to play small without a flicker declarer wouldn't 
know what to do – and half the time he would 
choose to play you for the ♦Q. 

Note that staring at the ♦10, shuffling 
uncomfortably around, gazing at the ceiling, 
consulting with an invisible oracle and other 
foolish practices can only help declarer divine 
the position. [And NO, you are not permitted to 
perform all these histrionics if you don't have 
the ♦A – that will get you banned from a Bridge 
Club faster than if you'd parked your car on the 
chairman's foot]. 

Now, at the table you have to think fast. 
Actually, you should train yourself to think in 
advance. It isn't difficult to see that declarer is 
going to lead a Diamond towards dummy 
sometime in the hand. Your thought processes 
must be directed towards that key question: Will 
I play the ♦A or not? When the time comes you 
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are ready for it and can play with the right 
degree of nonchalance. 

Note that on this hand you have no chance of a 
trick in any other suit. Accordingly, your only 
hope is to make two Diamond tricks and the 
only hope of that is a misguess by declarer. 
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www.vubridge.com

Second hand play. Six defensive hands.

VB#18 Year 2 Second hand low? Part 1 (SA Version)
Contract: 6H
By: East

Date: 21/07/2014 Board #: 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North
♠ JT764
♥ 63
♦ QT8
♣ 752

West
♠ K82
♥ A85
♦ K9763
♣ K8

East
♠ A9
♥ KQJT72
♦ J52
♣ AQ

South
♠ Q53
♥ 94
♦ A4
♣ JT9643

This deal looks suspiciously like Hand 5. 

Do you get that odd feeling that you've seen 
this hand, these opponents, this bidding 
before...? Spooky. 

However, does that mean that you should 
defend the deal in the same way as you did 
before? 

If so, why? If not, why not? 

West North East South

- - 1♥ P

2♦ P 3♥ P

4NT P 5♥ P

6♥ P P P

Lead: ♣ J

East-West blast their way into a poor slam. 
After your ♣J lead (better in principle than the 
♦A after this bidding) the whole contract 
depends on a miracle lie in Diamonds or on a 
defensive mistake. The miracle lie in Diamonds, 
by the way, is to hope that you (South) started 
with ♦A Q alone. Possible, but you wouldn't 
want to bet your house on it, would you? 

Anyway, declarer wins the ♣Q, draws takes two 
rounds of trumps, plays three rounds of 
Spades, ruffing the third round in hand, cashes 
the ♣A (crashing the ♣K on the table) and then 
leads a Diamond. 

Crisis time. Do you/Don't you take the ♦A? 
Well, does it matter? Declarer has two losing 
Diamonds anyway, whatever South does. Look 
again. Suppose you (as South) play a low 
Diamond. Declarer has no choice but to play 
the ♦K and to play another Diamond. You win 
with the ♦A and play...? Well you only have 
Clubs left so that's not a difficult question. You 
play a Club – any Club. Unfortunately that gives 
declarer a ruff-and-discard and is usually good 
news only for declarer.  

East will gleefully ruff with dummy's last trump 
and will throw away his last Diamond. His hand 
will consist only of winning trumps. Partner will 
sorrowfully shake his head as his "certain" 
winning Diamond (the ♦Q) will sleep with the 
fishes tonight.

How can you avoid this ignominy? By not
playing second player low. There isn't a guess 
for declarer to get wrong and the play so far 
makes it clear that declarer started with two 
Spades, two Clubs, six Hearts and three 
Diamonds. 

In a way, playing second hand high was an 
unblocking action, hoping to set up a possible 
winner in partner's hand. If we had ♦A × ×, we 
would have played second hand low. 

The contrast between Hand 7 and Hand 8 is 
subtle yet still distinct. What you need to do is 
to keep your wits about you. 
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