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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J83

♥ Q72

♦ Q7632

♣ K5

West

♠ AQT

♥ J95

♦ A4

♣ AJ832

East

♠ K5

♥ AT6

♦ J98

♣ QT974

South

♠ 97642

♥ K843

♦ KT5

♣ 6

This series of six deals (and another 
series to be found in this edition of 
V-Blue) is all about third hand play in 
defence. The basic idea is well 
known from that oft-quoted phrase "Third 
player plays high", an adage that comes to 
us from the days of whist. However, there 
is much more to this aspect of 
defense that simple phraseology. 

In this series we are going to ask you to 
Read the Lead (what has dear old partner 
led from?) and to work out what to do. 
Should we play "Third player plays high" 
regardless? Should we return partner's 
suit when on lead? 

Also contained within these series are 
deals that require applications of the Rule 
of Eleven. Assuming partner has led the 
fourth highest of a suit headed by an 
honour we can apply this famous rule to 
analyse the suit layout. If you are 
unfamiliar with the Rule of Eleven we will, 
as ever, talk you through it.

The first few deals are easy enough but – 
be warned! – they get tougher. 

Hand 1 is gentle, just to get you into the 
mood. 

West North East South

- P P P

1♣ P 3♣ P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♦ 3

This deal throws up a common card 
combination. East-West start off with 1♣ – 3♣ 
and West decides (with 16 points) to take a pot 
at 3NT. North leads the ♦3.

From your perspective as South that might be 
from a four-card suit or a five-card suit (it 
depends where the ♦2 is) but at leas you know 
that North has an honour or two. With a fistful of 
low Diamonds North would not have led fourth 
highest – the modern style is to lead the second 
highest to disclaim interest in the suit. Anyway, 
North might have the ♦A, the ♦Q or – on a good 
day – the ♦A Q. What is the correct card to play 
when declarer calls for dummy’s ♦8 at trick 
one?

Many players, with the “third player plays high” 
rule ringing in their ears, would make the error 
of playing the ♦K here. In fact that is never right, 
regardless of who has what in Diamonds.

If partner has the ♦A and declarer the ♦Q you 
have given West an early Diamond trick it is 
true but declarer was always destined to get a 
trick in the suit – it makes little difference that 
you concede an early trick rather than a later 
trick.

If – as here – North has the ♦Q the play of the 
♦10 is essential. If you were to play the ♦K then 
the ♦J on table would be a sure second stopper 
for declarer. On this layout playing the ♦10 
forces the ♦A and the defenders have four 
Diamond tricks to take as well as the ♣K.

As it happens, declarer ducks the ♦10 (probably 
a small error on his part, although that is 
definitely not your concern). You hasten to play 
the ♦K back at trick two (a low Diamond, you 
should note, would block the suit) and the 
defenders have an easy time of it cashing five 
winners once the Club finesse loses.

Tough bananas, West. Better luck next time.
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www.vubridge.com

This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: East Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ Q862

♥ J65

♦ 832

♣ 972

West

♠ K73

♥ KQ9

♦ J64

♣ AKQ3

East

♠ J95

♥ A8

♦ KT975

♣ JT4

South

♠ AT4

♥ T7432

♦ AQ

♣ 865

How do you plan to defeat an opposition 
game here? 

Grab some tricks early or sit back and wait?

West North East South

- - P P

1♣ P 1♦ P

2NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♠ 2

East-West reach 3NT after West has shown a 
strong balanced hand and North (with a dismal 
collection) kicks off with the ♠2. How should you 
defend as South?

Well, if we Read the Lead it is evident that 
North has four Spades headed by an honor. A 
count of points shows that North has very little 
in the way of points – 3 is about par for the 
course. So how should you defend?

The "obvious" defence is to take the ♠A and 
return the ♠10. Let’s see what happens if you 
try that. West allows that to run to the ♠J so 
North wins his ♠Q and clears the Spades. West 
then runs the ♦J to you (he has to develop 
Diamonds to make his nine tricks) and you take 
you ♦Q. Now what? Well, there is nothing you 
can do to defeat the contract. You take the ♦A 
in due course and West mops up the rest. North 
has a winning Spade but no prospect of ever 
getting on lead to cash it.

Now try an alternative play – that of playing the 
♠10 at trick one. Nothing is lost if North has ♠K 
× × × as West has a Spade trick in any case. 
The gain comes here when West has the ♠K. 
West daren’t let your ♠10 hold – for all he 
knows North has the ♠A Q poised over the ♠K.

So he takes his King and finesses the ♦J and 
that’s one down. You cash the ♠A, play a 
Spade to partner’s ♠Q and – crucially – partner 
is on lead to cash the last Spade. The ♦A is the 
defence’s fifth trick.

Easy when you see it and…
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www.vubridge.com

This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ K9764

♥ KT8

♦ J2

♣ 952

West

♠ 532

♥ AJ5

♦ A864

♣ AJ3

East

♠ QJ

♥ 932

♦ KQ5

♣ KQT84

South

♠ AT8

♥ Q764

♦ T973

♣ 76

Just to refresh your memory: When the 
opening lead is not the second highest from 
a poor suit nor the top of a sequence, it is 
usually the fourth-highest-from-the-longest-
and-strongest. 

To apply the Rule of Eleven we subtract 
the rank of the card led from 11, and that is 
the number of cards higher held by the other 
three players. Clear? Maybe, maybe not... 

For example, partner leads the 7. We 
perform the simple sum 11 – 7 and come up 
with the answer 4. So the Rule tells us that 
there are four cards higher than the 7 shared 
amongst the dummy, your hand and 
declarer's hand. 

This tells you how many cards higher than 
the 7 reside in declarer's hand. This 
information may be crucial to a successful 
defence. 

On this deal (Hand 2) can you work out who 
has what in Spades? In short, can you Read 

the Lead?

West North East South

- - - P

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♠ 6

West again plays in 3NT and North leads the 
♠6. How, as South, should you defend this 
hand?

Well, the Rule of Eleven might be applied here. 
11 – 6 = 5 so there are five Spades higher than 
the 6 in the other three hands (in East, South 
and West in this case).

Here, you can see them all (the ♠Q J on table 
and the ♠A 10 8 in hand. This tells you that 
West has no Spade higher than the ♠6. Of 
course, this assumes that North is leading the 
fourth highest of his longest and strongest. If he 
has chosen to lead the ♠6 from, say, ♠9 6 5 3 2 
then all your calculations will prove fruitless. 
However, why be such a pessimist?

You have excellent prospects of running off the 
Spades. So you take your ♠A and play back a 
Spade at trick two. The “trick” though, is that 
you must play back the ♠10. Many players in 
the past have decided not to “waste” the 
precious Ten and have sent back the ♠8 at trick 
two. Oops! Calamity. North takes the ♠K, plays 
a third round of Spades and then South’s ears 
start to burn as he realises that he has blocked 
the suit. After a brief hiatus there is an icy 
remark along the lines of “It’s your lead, 
partner” from North and South realises that he 
has done it in. Unable to lead a Spade South 
fishes something else out and declarer claims 
his contract.

In these circumstances it is important to lead 
back the higher card from two remaining, both 
to enable partner to count the suit and – as in 
this case – to unblock it.

True, on some cloudy days declarer will have 
♠9 × × and the play of the ♠10 will give declarer 
an undeserved Spade trick. Well, on this deal 
the Rule of Eleven makes it clear than this is 
not the case.

Page 1 sur 2

07/10/2015file:///C:/Users/user/Documents/_VuBridge/Spooler/_Session_2502_...



Page 2 sur 2

07/10/2015file:///C:/Users/user/Documents/_VuBridge/Spooler/_Session_2502_...



www.vubridge.com

This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: West Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J73

♥ J84

♦ KJ752

♣ J6

West

♠ A984

♥ KT65

♦ 94

♣ AQ7

East

♠ KQ5

♥ A73

♦ Q86

♣ KT84

South

♠ T62

♥ Q92

♦ AT3

♣ 9532

Here, the Rule of Eleven may be of use again 
in planning the defence. 

West North East South

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♦ 5

The auction is nothing special, but a 1NT – 3NT 
auction suggests a major suit lead if there are 
alternatives. 

However, North chooses to leads the ♦5. Our 
Count and Plan as defenders begins when we 
Read the Lead. It's definitely fourth down from  
along suit, but we're not sure if North has a 
four-card or five-card suit. Let's apply the Rule 

of Eleven. 

11 – 5 = 6, so there are six cards higher than 
the ♦5 in dummy, declarer and our hands. We 
see three in dummy and two in our hand. What 
can declarer hold? Exactly one card higher than 
the ♦5. 

Well, we can't see the ♦7, ♦9, ♦J or ♦K. 
If declarer's high card is the ♦K or ♦J, declarer 
is always going to get one Diamond trick if we 
play the ♦10. But, if declarer's "high" card is any 
of the others, we can collect all the Diamond 
tricks.  

The correct card to play on dummy's ♦6 is the 
♦10 so that's what we do, and mirabile dictu, it 
holds the trick. 

At trick two, we need to play our ♦A or we'll 
block the suit. 

At trick three, we lead our last Diamond and 
find to our delight that declarer shows out. That 
means partner has five Diamonds and the first 
five tricks are ours. 

After we take the first five Diamond tricks, the 
rest belong to declarer, but it's another case of 
too little too late. 

Our big decision in this hand was how high 
should we play at trick one. We know partner 
has honour(s) in the suit, and it has to be the ♦J 
and/or the ♦K. We have to use our ♦10 to flush 
out honours in declarer's hand, if he has any. 
To play our ♦A would be a waste. In fact, the 
♦10 is the right card to play regardless of 
whether declarer has the ♦J, the ♦K or any 
other holding...

One final thought: If we only had a Diamond 
doubleton, we would of course have to play our 
♦A first to unblock. But you knew that, didn't 
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www.vubridge.com

This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ JT983

♥ QT43

♦ K6

♣ 85

West

♠ 652

♥ K7

♦ AJ984

♣ AJT

East

♠ A4

♥ 862

♦ QT2

♣ KQ764

South

♠ KQ7

♥ AJ95

♦ 753

♣ 932

As a declarer, you should have learned the 
importance of visualising the hand as a whole 
to help you plan the order in which you need 
to play the cards. 

Is it any different as a defender? Certainly 
not! If you want to defeat the opponents you 
are going to need to look into your crystal ball 
and see into the future... 

West North East South

- P P P

1NT P 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♠ J

East-West reach game after an invitational 
sequence. West only has 13 points but he has 
a playable five-card suit and that probably 
induced him to have a shot at game.  

North's opening lead of the ♠J indicates the top 
of a three-card sequence. We're not positive if 
it's from four or five (or even six!) cards, but we 
can be sure that it can't be from two or three 
cards. The fact that the West didn't bid Spades 
initially means that he can have at most four of 
them.

Our Count and Plan shows we have at 
least three Spade tricks and the ♥A. We need 
one more to break the contract.  

We have to think carefully and visualise the 
later play to decide what to do at trick one when 
declarer takes the ♠A at trick one. It's tempting 
to follow with the ♠7, thinking of the ♠K and ♠Q 
as established winners. 

However... the ♠K Q are equal with partner's 
Spades. If we are smart enough to play the ♠K 
at trick one, we promise North the ♠Q and we 
are also unblocking the suit. This is an 
essential part of this defence. 

Let's take a minute out from our defender 
thinking, and look at this hand from the 
declarer's point of view. He sees his contract 
coming from five Club tricks, the ♠A and either 
four (or if the Diamond finesse actually works) 
or five Diamond tricks. Not an outrageous 
dream, is it? 

When the declarer runs the ♦Q at trick two and 
the finesse loses to partner's ♦K, it's all over, 
but only because we unblocked a Spade 

honour at trick one. Now partner should lead a 
low Spade at trick three (the ♠8 for choice) but 
he rather excitedly leads the ♠10 (who said, 
"always lead the top of a sequence"?) 

This gives us another chance to make a mess 
of the defence by letting that win the trick but 
we have already made a secure Plan for the 
Spade suit. Accordingly, we continue to unblock 
by putting the ♠Q on it. 

At that point, we really should cash the ♥A 
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before allowing partner to enjoy his Spades. 
However, just to show that partner isn't the only 
one who makes subtle errors, we immediately 
return his suit. We now have two discards to 
make on which we should signal what we want 
partner to lead.

At trick five, the best discard (think of it as the 
most dramatic) is the ♥J ("Please, please, lead 
one of these"). On the next trick we throw the 
♣2  

This high card in Hearts is so clear that it could 
be seen from outer space; partner gets the 
message so we make the ♥A for two down. (We 
end up with four Spade tricks, the ♦K and ♥A.) 

We might have got the message across to 
partner by throwing the ♣2 and the ♣3 but the 
actual signal would have woken up the most 
comatose of partners.

Now, let's pause awile and see what would 
have happened had we not unblocked a Spade 
honour at trick one. 

North would have won the ♦K at trick two and 
we would have taken our ♠K and ♠Q and the 
♥A. That, howver, would have been the end of 
the party; we would have wrecked our 
defensive communication and we would have 
handed the contract to the opponents with a big 
pink ribbon, tied in a bow. 
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www.vubridge.com

This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ QT87

♥ T62

♦ J4

♣ T752

West

♠ 65

♥ K54

♦ AQ5

♣ AQJ63

East

♠ K43

♥ Q87

♦ K9872

♣ K4

South

♠ AJ92

♥ AJ93

♦ T63

♣ 98

It's the same old story. 

Read the Lead. Then work out who has what 
and – finally – find a devastating defence. 

Not too difficult really...?

West North East South

- - P P

1♣ P 1♦ P

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♠ 7

After a routine auction to 3NT, our partner leads 
the ♠7 and we pause to reflect on the sight of 
dummy. When you are in third hand, your first 
job is to Read the Lead.

Partner's lead certainly cannot be from a five-
card suit. Why not? Then declarer would have a 
singleton, and wouldn't have rebid 1NT. 
Therefore it's fourth best from a four-carder. 

Next, we apply the "Rule of Eleven." 11 – 7 = 4. 
There are four Spades higher than the ♠7 in the 
other three hands. We see one in dummy and 
we've got three. That means declarer hasn't a 
single card higher than the ♠7. 

It means (if we can be bothered to go the extra 
mile) that partner must have precisely ♠Q 10 8 
7. Exact calculations like this are rarely 
necessary at the table as the Rule of Eleven 
has done all the hard work for you.

So, what should we play at trick one? We can 
actually play the ♠2, knowing North's ♠7 will win 
the trick. This is the key play in this hand. 

If we were to overtake partner's ♠7 (presumably 
with the ♠J), we  we would be stymied at the 
next trick. We would either have to turn 
dummy's ♠K into a winner or abandon Spades 
altogether. If we switched suits declarer would 
have a whale of a time running off all of his 
minor suit winners and claiming his contract 
with overtricks. 

Normally, a third-hand play of the ♠2 would be a 
discouraging signal, asking partner to switch 
suits, and we might notice a brief furrowing of 
North's brow when he sees the ♠2 (isn't it great 
to have a partner who actually looks at the 
cards you play?) When he sees the ♠7 hold 
though, he is unlikely to do anything else but 
play another Spade. 

Defenders must also count their tricks. We 
know we've got all four Spade tricks sewn up 
tight. The fifth and setting trick will come from 
our ♥A. It doesn't seem likely that our ♥A will 
disappear, but we've all had the rats get at our 
winners too often to resist taking that setting 
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trick before sending the last Spade back to 
partner. 

Besides, why torture the poor declarer? Take 
your tricks and let him have the rest. 

Does the Rule of Eleven always defeat the 
contract? No, of course not, but part of your job 
is to place the cards in the suit led (Read the 
lead, remember?). The Rule of Eleven 
often helps you do that, and it only takes a 
second. If you ever think that the Rule of Eleven 
fails you, fear not, it means partner's lead was 
not from fourth best. 
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