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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 7652

♥ QT642

♦ 82

♣ 84

West

♠ A83

♥ J97

♦ J94

♣ AQJ7

East

♠ J4

♥ A85

♦ KQT753

♣ KT

South

♠ KQT9

♥ K3

♦ A6

♣ 96532

This series of six deals (the second of two 
series to be found in this edition of 
V-Blue) is about third hand play in 
defence. We all know about "Third player 
plays high" but there is more to it than 
that...

We are going to ask you to Read the Lead
(what has partner led from?) and to work 
out what to do. Should we play "Third 
player plays high" regardless? Should we 
return partner's suit when on lead? 

The previous series focused on No-trump 
contracts. In this series we have some suit 
contracts as well for you to consider. 

Hand 1 just needs you to keep your wits 
about you. Who has what?

West North East South

- P 1♦ P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♥ 4

After West shows 13-15 points and a balanced 
hand we put our brain into overdrive to figure 
out how to set this contract. 

This hand illustrates the importance of figuring 
out how many points our partner has. This 
should be so routine you should hardly have to 
think too deeply about it. 

When you add up your points, the dummy's and 
declarer's opening 1NT bid, you realise that 
poor partner is big-time broke – except for the 
Heart honour he has led from. 

The arithmetic is primary school standard. West 
has 13-15 points, dummy has 13 and we are 
looking at 12. that leaves partner with 0-2 
points.

We calculate (by looking at our hand and the 
dummy) that partner could have the ♥Q. (He 
could have the ♥J, but then we would have no 
chance of setting 3NT...) 

Our big decision comes at trick one. Firstly, why 
did declarer play dummy's ♥A? Mostly, players 
duck a round or two of the suit that has been 
led. The answer – as you can see now – is that 
declarer feared a switch to a Spade and, 
indeed, given the chance you would have taken 
the ♥K at trick one played the ♠K at trick two.

So, declarer hopped up with the ♥A at trick one 
and you...? The smart third-hand play is to 
unblock the Heart suit by dumping the ♥K 
under dummy's ♥A. It only hurts for a second. 
When we get on lead with the ♦A at trick two (or 
three), we can now play the ♥3 through the 
declarer and into partner's five-card Heart suit. 
Yes, we know North has five Hearts. Would 
West not have responded 1♥ with four of them?

Good things happen to people who do good 
things. Everything is where we need it to be, 
and the poor declarer is down again. 
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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 4S

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: South Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 54

♥ KQT8

♦ J432

♣ AT4

West

♠ KQJT876

♥ 765

♦

♣ K93

East

♠ A32

♥ 2

♦ AKQT9

♣ 7652

South

♠ 9

♥ AJ943

♦ 8765

♣ QJ8

We have used the phrase before, we will use 
it again.

In defending this hand you must Look at the 
dummy, dummy.

West North East South

- - - P

3♠ P 4♠ P

P P

Lead: ♥ K

East-West bid quickly to 4♠. Once the dummy 
comes down, no one is in a better position to 
guide the hand than third hand. And that's what 
happens here. 

The dummy contains a spectacular side-suit, 
promising to provide a happy resting place for 
all of declarer's losers. 

Our Count and Plan shows that partner has 
roughly 11 points. We can see that they aren't 
in Diamonds and unlikely to be in Spades, so 
anything outside of Hearts must be in Clubs. 

The big question is "Who should lead the 
Clubs?" With our holding, it must be us. Partner 
is unlikely to be able to broach the suit from his 
side. 

So, trick one, we overtake partner's Heart 
winner with our ♥A and, at trick two, lead our 
♣Q. With this layout declarer cannot avoid three 
Club losers, whether he chooses to cover the 
♣Q or not. 

Three Club tricks is all the defence can take but 
that's enough. 4♠ is unavoidably one off. 

Third hand's job was to once again take control, 
and we fulfilled our mission.
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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ KQT9643

♥ 8

♦ 54

♣ AT7

West

♠ 85

♥ KQ642

♦ 62

♣ J842

East

♠ J

♥ AJT7

♦ AKJ93

♣ Q63

South

♠ A72

♥ 953

♦ QT87

♣ K95

Often as defenders we're not initially sure 
how we're going to defeat the contract. 

Sometimes we need to attack and grab our 
winners before the rats get at them. 
Sometimes it is best to lie low and do nuffin'.

What type of deal is this?

West North East South

- - 1♦ P

1♥ 3♠ 4♥ P

P P

Lead: ♠ K

Once again, third hand proves to be the hero. 

East has been forced into bidding 4♥ by North's 
pre-empt of 3♠. North leads the King of his suit 
and a slightly underweight dummy appears. Not 
that East could avoid bidding 4♥ (anyone with 
red blood coursing through their veins would do 
the same) it's just that it gives us hope of 
defeating the contract.

The sight of the cards on the table shows that 
we are sitting over the dummy and that we 
have its side-suit (Diamonds) well covered. This 
usually means we don't want to be on lead, and 
we certainly don't want to lead from our 
honours. 

At trick one, we have a big decision to make. 
Should we or should we not take the trick? We 
decide to overtake the ♠K with the Ace for 
several reasons. 

Firstly, partner is looking at the dummy too, but 
he sees a different story. He sees those 
Diamonds, and visualises them as a dump site. 
We know better, and we have to make sure that 
partner doesn't attempt to grab as many tricks 
as he can early in the hand. As we saw in the 
previous deal, when the dummy is a dumping 
ground, we usually attack our possible side-
suits immediately. 

Here, if we allow partner to hold trick one he is 
very likely to continue with the ♣A. (We don't 
know he has the ♣A, of course, but a Club shift 
from ♣J × × would be just as poor).

Secondly, we just love declarer (or dummy) 
being on lead. The more that happens in this 
hand, the better. Let 'em get on with it. 

After taking the ♠A we could play a trump at 
trick two (a really passive defense) but slightly 
better is to force dummy by playing back a 
Spade. This makes it that much harder for 
declarer to get his Diamonds going. Declarer's 
plan will be to ruff out the Diamonds – he will 
hope for a 3-3 break (or the ♦Q falling in two 
rounds). Tough bananas, West, not today. 

Ultimately declarer runs out of trumps in ruffing 
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two Diamonds in hand and drawing our three 
trumps. Rather unexpectedly partner takes the 
last three tricks with the ♣A and two boss 
Spades. 

Note, though, that declarer can never play 
Clubs without giving us three Club tricks. The 
suit is classically situated – it is a frozen suit
(whoever leads it, regrets doing so).

Patience is a virtue, we've been told. This hand 
shows exactly the kind of deal where it pays off: 
The hand where declarer doesn't have enough 
tricks. Also a hand where your honours, as third 
hand, are all behind the big hand. 

On this type of deal you should pour yourself a 
drink, sit back, sip your beverage and watch the 
show. Declarer does all the hard work while 
your duties are confined to following suit and 
not falling off your chair.
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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ KQT9643

♥ 8

♦ 84

♣ K85

West

♠ 85

♥ KQ642

♦ QT

♣ T974

East

♠ J

♥ AJT7

♦ AKJ93

♣ Q63

South

♠ A72

♥ 953

♦ 7652

♣ AJ2

Contrast this deal with the previous one 
(Hand 3), which has some similarities (!) 

Sometimes we need to attack and grab our 
winners before the rats get at them. 
Sometimes it is best to lie low and do nuffin'. 

What type of deal is this?

West North East South

- - 1♦ P

1♥ 3♠ 4♥ P

P P

Lead: ♠ K

This hand looks eerily familiar. The bidding, the 
dummy... is this an old episode of the X-Files? 
At least the thirteen cards we have in our own 
hand are different, so that may give us cause to 
reflect. 

East is forced into 4♥ by North's 3♠ pre-empt. 
4♥ is a slight overbid but I'd do it, you'd do it, 
even educated fleas'd do it... 

North kicks off with the ♠K lead and at trick one, 
we have a decision to make, just as we did in 
Hand 3. Spooky! Should we or should we not 
overtake the ♠K with the ♠A? If so, why? If not, 
why not? 

As we have seen previously, when the dummy 
is a dumping ground, we usually attack our 
possible side suits immediately. Here, we 
should be alarmed by our Diamond holding. 

♦7 6 5 2 could be considered a nuisance value 
by precisely nobody. We can see clearly now 
(just like Johnny Nash) that declarer will be able 
to pull trumps and cash five Diamonds. If North 
has the ♦Q it's useless for the defence – if 
declarer has it he'll be beaming from ear to ear. 

Right... drastic action required. We need four 
tricks and we need 'em fast. Like now (or even 
earlier). Partner, if left on lead, might funk 
leading away from the ♣K, fearing opening up 
the Clubs. 

Partners must be protected from themselves so 
we must take the ♠A and immediately switch to 
the ♣2. North wins the ♣K (if he didn't have that 
card, by the way, it's very hard to see where 
four defensive tricks are coming from) and 
plays another Club. Two seconds later we are 
four-nil up with nine to play. Game over.

It was hard work, but so satisfying. Partner 
opens his mouth to say something. We expect 
the words "Well defended". Nope. "If you'd have 
bid 4♠", the horrible creature whines, "I'd have 
made that with seven Spade tricks and three 
Clubs". Right. Thanks. In the doghouse again... 
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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 2S

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ J5

♥ Q8653

♦ Q63

♣ 974

West

♠ AKQ98

♥ 42

♦ KJ8

♣ KT2

East

♠ 72

♥ AJ9

♦ T742

♣ 8653

South

♠ T643

♥ KT7

♦ A95

♣ AQJ

Here we have a tricky deal where you have to 
think carefully. What's that expression again? 
Two-level contracts are the hardest to make 

and the hardest to defeat? Something like 
that. Well, here you'll have to be at your 
sharpest. 

For once you are about to pick up a decent 
hand; not that it's going to do you much good, 
mind...

West North East South

- P P 1NT

X 2♥ P P

2♠ P P P

Lead: ♥ 5

Here we (South) are looking at a promising 
hand and open 1NT after two Passes. West 
Doubles (for penalties) and partner rescues into 
2♥. West then tries his luck with 2♠ and that 
buys the auction. 

Partner leads the ♥5 and 5 points go down in 
the dummy – more than we’d hoped to see but 
worse than declarer wanted. Anyway, West 
courteously thanks his partner for the collection 
duly displayed and calls for the ♥9. 

Trick one crisis (again!) What should you play? 
It might be disastrous to play the ♥K – in time 
declarer might finesse the ♥J and make two 
Heart tricks, dumping a loser from hand. On the 
other hand it might be a calamity not to play the 
♥K. If declarer has ♥Q × (we know he can have 
at most two Hearts) then he might win trick one 
and lose no more Hearts. 

What to do? Well, coming to our rescue is the 
Rule of Eleven. Well educated players lead 
fourth-highest from broken suits in suit 
contracts as well as in No-trumps. 

Partner has led the fourth highest Heart (so one 
strong inference is that he has something in the 
suit) but we can confirm that with simple 
arithmetic. 11 – 5 = 6 so there are six cards 
higher than the ♥5 shared amongst dummy, our 
hand and declarer. We can see all six (three on 
table, three in hand) so declarer has none, de 
nada, zilch. We are quite safe in putting in the 
♥10, confident it will hold the trick. 

The deal isn’t over, though. At trick two we 
should play back the ♥K (to knock out the entry 
to dummy). Declarer tries his luck in Diamonds, 
finessing into partner’s ♦Q. 

West ruffs the Heart return and plays three top 
trumps, hoping for an even split, before playing 
the ♦K. We do best to duck that, isolating the 
♦10 on table. Now we come to a trump trick 
and, eventually, two Club tricks.

One off again. East-West are having a bad 
day...
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This is all about third hand play and Reading the Lead. Some 
deals make use of the Rule of Eleven.

VB#19 Year 2 Third Hand play Part 2 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: West

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: West Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 76

♥ 765

♦ A52

♣ AT872

West

♠ AT54

♥ AQ4

♦ T74

♣ K65

East

♠ K32

♥ K32

♦ KQJ96

♣ 93

South

♠ QJ98

♥ JT98

♦ 83

♣ QJ4

Bridge is a partnership game. Well, it's 
supposed to be... 

Can you work out partner's problem here? 
Can you help him solve it? 

Be warned! This is not easy!

West North East South

1NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♣ 7

North leads the ♣7 against 3NT and Declarer 
takes the ♣K over your ♣J. This leaves North in 
the dark as to the location of the ♣Q – declarer 
could as easily have ♣K Q × as ♣K × ×. 

Declarer, naturally enough, plays on Diamonds, 
and North has a problem. In essence he has to 
decide whether to play you (South) for the ♣Q 
or whether to play you for a major-suit Ace and 
♣J × ×. North does the best he can by holding 
up the ♦A for two rounds in the hope that you 
can make a helpful discard. So what can you 
pitch on the third Diamond that will open North's 
eyes as to the true layout of the cards? This is 
the £1,000,000 question.

Well, the Rule of Eleven may help you here. 
From the South seat you can see that North 
must have all the winning Clubs. (Why? 
Because 11 – 7 = 4 and you have seen all four 
higher Clubs in the other three hands – the ♣9 
on table, the ♣Q J in your hand and the ♣K in 
West). 

So you know that the Clubs are North's to run 
whereas North does not. How can you let 
partner know? If you were to throw the ♠8 or the 
♥8 North might think it a signal for a lead of that 
suit (after all, you could logically hold the ♠A or 
the ♥A together with ♣J × ×) 

The correct discard is the ♣Q! With his vision 
unclouded North can now cash out the Clubs 
for an easy one off. 
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