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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy;
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VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL g;"‘;;/“:; 3N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1
Dealer: North Vulnerable: None
Play this hand online!
North
& AT6
v T82
¢+ JT98
* A76
West East
» Q752 « J83
v AKQJ v 753
¢+ AQ6 ¢ K52
* Q9 » JT84
South
» K94
v 964
¢ 743
» K532

This series (and the previous series on
this topic to be found elsewhere in this
edition) is all about how to isolate declarer
from the dummy. To co-operate effectively
the defenders need to be able to count the
critical suit (usually dummy's long suit)
and to do that they have to signal their
suit lengths to each other.

What is the normal method for these
signals? Well, the conventional procedure
is for a defender to follow upwards
(starting with a small card) with an odd
number of cards and to play high-low with
an even number of cards, allowing his
partner to read the suit lengths.

The first series showed some basic
examples of this idea. This series is
trickier and may have you scratching your
heads... Here you are going to see six
examples of good hands facing weak
ones, a common position where the
defenders' best play is to break
communications between dummy and
declarer.

Hand 1. Can you read what is going on in
both the suit that partner leads and in the suit
declarer attacks?
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West North East South
- P P P
2NT P 3NT P
P P
Lead: ¢ J

Here 3NT is played by West on the ¢J lead from
North.

Declarer wins trick one with the ¢A (a poorly
judged false card as you know the location of
the ¢Q from the opening lead) andcan
count seven top tricks in the red suits.

There are two “slow” Club tricks if declarer can
get at them so West immediately leads the #Q.
North has no reason at all to take that with his
Ace so he ducks, playing the #6, and you, as
South, should equally be in no hurry to part with
the #K.

Work it out. If either North or South takes the
first Clubthe hand is easy-peasy, lemon
squeezy. Declarer wins the Diamond return in
hand with the ¢Q, plays the #9 and overtakes it
in the dummy. This way he cannot be
prevented from setting up two Clubs and
reaching them with the ¢K.

If, however, the #Q is ducked by both
defenders there are insufficient entries to get
the Clubs going and declarer has nowhere to
go for nine tricks. If he plays on Spades (a
classical frozen suit) he must lose three tricks
there.
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy;
ACOL version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL g;"wf; 3N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2
Dealer: East Vulnerable: N/ S
Play this hand online!
North
« JT985
v 765
¢ T9
& 532
West East
* Q763 s K4
vQT v J9842
¢ AQJ6 + 542
* KQJ & AT6
South
& A2
v AK3
+ K873
* 9874

Can you piece together who has what high
cards on this deal?

Having done that, can you find an effective
defence?
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West North East South
- - P INT
X 24 3y P
3NT P P P
Lead: & J

After you open 1NT West Doubles for penalties
and eventually plays in 3NT. Northl eads the 4J
and declarer faces an interesting play problem.

Superficially, West can see one Spade, three
Hearts, at least two Diamonds and three Clubs
for his contract (you are marked with all the
missing high cards after the bidding). However,
can declarer get to them all?

Declarer plays the «K from dummy (won by
your #A) and takes the 4Q at trick two. The
bidding (North's 24 rescue) and your 42
return both show clearly that Spades are 5-2.

Declarer now advances the ¥Q and the fate of
the hand depends on this trick. Take it and
West makes his contract easily. Duck it (and
North's carding shows you he has three Hearts,
leaving West with two) and declarer has to go
off.

If you take the ¥K and play back a minor card
(a Club is best) West can win that in hand and
overtake the ¥10 with the vJ on table. He is
certain to get Hearts going now for three tricks.
However... should you allow the ¥Q to win what
can declarer do next? Another Heart is won by
the ¥K but now West lacks the entries to set up
and enjoy the long suit. He will end up with one
Heart trick only.

It now takes brilliant play from declarer to get
out for one down... This involves forcing you on
lead to give access to dummy's Clubs or to take
the Diamond finesse.
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ACOL version
VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL g;"‘ga"sf 3N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3
Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online!
North
& Q63
v 9754
¢ A84
* J42
West East
» 842 » AK5
v J63 v QT8
¢ KJIT9 + Qb
* 863 » AKQTH
South
& JT97
v AK2
¢ 7632
* 97
Here is another good hand facing a weak
dummy.

Can you tell partner what to do in time?
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West North East South
- - - P
P P 2NT P
3NT P P
Lead: & J

East reaches 3NT having shown 20-22 points
and dummy has a miserable hand. You, sitting
South, have an obvious #J lead but you cannot
be sure of the Spade layout when partner plays
the 46 and declarer wins the #K.

Declarer starts on Diamonds by leading the ¢Q
and you must make a clear signal to partner,
who may have ¢A x x. (In passing it's worth
noting that if partner has ¢A x and declarer ¢+Q
x x then the defence is without hope as partner
cannot isolate the Diamonds on the table).

Now, which Diamond should you play? The 43,
intending to play the ¢2 on the next round? Ah,
but what happens if declarer puts the ¢K on the
+Q and leads the ¢J? Now partner is in agonies
of indecision as he can’t judge whether your ¢3
is the start of a pefer or the lowest card from
three. Probably he will duck a second Diamond
and declarer will have a second Diamond trick.

Note that two Diamond tricks is all that East
needs to make 3NT. He has two Spades and
five Clubs (with the 3-2 break) so just two
Diamond tricks would do very nicely, thank you.

Now, when you are making a length signal with
four low cards it is almost always right to signal
with the second-highest card. Why? Because
it is very hard for partner to misread it. The 46 is
the right card to play on the ¢Q as your length-
showing signal.

Here, when partner reads you for four
Diamonds and takes the ¢A on the second
round declarer is dead and buried — 3NT has no
chance.
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) !““P'[',ggf West  North East South
www.vubridge.com 2NT P 3NT P
A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy;
ACOL version P P
VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL g;"w:;: 3N Lead: & J
1;::;:?7‘:;:2015 3‘:’:;:)]: . | You may not have realised it but this hand is
! . ' Hand 3 rotated through 180°. Here you have to
Play this hand online!
decide how many Diamonds to duck as South
against 3NT after East-West have bid 2NT -
North 3NT.
® JT97 Partner leads the &J and you do the best you
v AK2 can to signal encouragement with the 46 (this,
+7632 you should note, is not a length-showing
+97 position). Declarer takes the 4K and plays the
West East +Q to the ¢K and tries the ¢J, forcing you to
& AK5 2842 make a decision before you have seen your
v QT8 v J63 partner’s second card.
+Q5 +KJT9 _
& AKQTS * 863 Well? Win or duck? Let's analyse partner’'s 46

on the first round. Can North have three
Diamonds? No, because the ¢6 cannot be the
lowest of three cards (you can see all of the ¢A

South
* Q63

v 9754 KQJ 10 9 8 so there aren’t two Diamonds

+ A84
* J42

On this hand you have little information on So the ¢6 is the start of a peter and North has

which to make a critical decision in the an even number — either two or four. If partner

defence. has two Diamonds declarer has four and we are
wasting our time — no defence works as West

Can you make best use of the one card has three Diamond tricks regardless.

partner has played?

higher than the ¢6 that partner can hold).

If partner has four Diamonds, though, declarer
has two and we must take the second Diamond
with the ¢A.

Having done so, we make the routine play of
returning partner's Spade suit and let nature
take its course. As it happens, 3NT simply runs
out of steam and fails by one ftrick.
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy;

ACOL version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL

Contract: 3N

By: West
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5
Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S
Play this hand online!
North
«QT7
v JT987
¢ 32
* J96
West East
4 AJ8 s 642
v AKQ v 653
+ Q54 ¢ KIT96
» AK42 *73
South
& K953
v 42
¢ A87
* QT85

These last two hands feature tricky defences.

You need to keep your wits about you and
look very carefully at the spot cards.

Can you work

out what the distribution of a

critical suit is from very little evidence?
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West North East South
- P P P
28 P 2¢ P
2NT P 3NT P
P P
Lead: v J

West plays in 3NT and your partner leads the
vJ. West has to make tricks from the Diamond
suit so plays one at trick two.

Now, the hand would easy to defend should
declarer lead the ¢Q and follow with either of
his Diamonds at trick two. Sitting South you'd
be able to see both of your partner's Diamond
cards in good time and see whether North
petered in the suit or not.

Here you'd see partner play the 3 followed by
the ¢2 and you'd know that he had two (and
West had three). With that in mind you would
duck two rounds of Diamonds and West would
fail in his contract, restricted to one Spade,
three Hearts, two Diamonds and two Clubs.

However... here, West decides, on a whim, to
play Diamonds differently. For no real reason
he leads a low Diamond (the ¢4) to the ¢9 and
then leads the ¢K. (If you take the ¢A West fully
intends to pitch the ¢Q). You now have to
decide what to do after you have only seen one
card from partner (the ¢3). Should you duck the
+K or should you take it?

You cannot immediately read the Diamond suit
— the 43 could be the start of a high-low from a
doubleton (specifically the ¢3 2) or it could be
the lowest card from three. At this point you
have to realise that the 42 is missing. If declarer
has it (with his ¢Q) then partner has a singleton
Diamond. (Why? Because otherwise East has
+Q 4 2 and North has played the ¢3 from ¢5 3.
Not possible. So West has ¢Q 5 4 2). If North
has it then he must have precisely two
Diamonds (the #3 2) and hence West has three.

In this case it is right to duck the Diamond.
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy;

ACOL version
VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 ACOL Eﬁ"?;? 3N
Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6
Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W
Play this hand online!
North
& Q75
v J732
+QT82
& 43
West East
463 » AK42
v 986 v AK5
¢ 654 ¢+ AK7
* KJT76 * Q82
South
« JT98
v QT4
¢ J93
* A95

In similar vein to Hand 5 you have to make an
important early decision on this deal with a
minimum of information.

What should you do and why?

Page 1 sur 1

West North East South
- - 28 P
2¢ 2NT P
3NT P P
Lead: & J

East reaches 3NT and you, as South, lead the
obvious &J. It is not so easy to see what is
going on in Spades when North follows with the
47 and East takes the #A. Still, the 47 does look
encouraging.

Anyway, once again, as in Hand 5, you have to
read the layout of dummy's long suit with very
little information.

East would make the hand easy for you if he
were to lead a low Club to the #10 and then
lead a low one back to the #Q. Should he do
that you'd have an armchair ride in the
defence —you would see North make a high-low
signal in Clubs (the #4 followed by the #3) and
you would easily deduce that North had two
Clubs and East had three. On that basis you
would know to hold up the #A until the third
round. Simple.

However... this East, for no reason other than it
seemed like a good idea to him at the time,
decides to lead the #Q from hand at trick two
and follows it with the #8. You have only seen
one Club from North (the #4) so have to make
a decision under pressure. It could be wrong
to duck again (if East had #Q 8 alone); it could
be wrong to take the #A.

How can you tell?

The £1,000,000 question is: Where is the
missing #27? (You might equally well ask
Where is the #37)

If North has either of them then he is petering in
the suit. In that case he has two Clubs only and
you must hold up the #A.

If East has one of the missing baby Clubs
then he has three Clubs. The conclusion is that
(again) you must withhold the Ace. QED.

Declarer has simply no suit in his hand that will
yield an extra trick and 3NT must fail.
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