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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 SA
Contract: 3N
By: West

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 1

Dealer: North Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North
♠ AT6
♥ T82
♦ JT98
♣ A76

West
♠ Q752
♥ AKQJ
♦ AQ6
♣ Q9

East
♠ J83
♥ 753
♦ K52
♣ JT84

South
♠ K94
♥ 964
♦ 743
♣ K532

This series (and the previous series on 
this topic to be found elsewhere in this 
edition) is all about how to isolate declarer 
from the dummy. To co-operate effectively 
the defenders need to be able to count the 
critical suit (usually dummy's long suit) 
and to do that they have to signal their 
suit lengths to each other. 

What is the normal method for these 
signals? Well, the conventional procedure 
is for a defender to follow upwards 
(starting with a small card) with an odd 
number of cards and to play high-low with 
an even number of cards, allowing his 
partner to read the suit lengths. 

The first series showed some basic 
examples of this idea. This series is 
trickier and may have you scratching your 
heads... Here you are going to see six 
examples of good hands facing weak 
ones, a common position where the 
defenders' best play is to break 
communications between dummy and 
declarer.

Hand 1. Can you read what is going on in 
both the suit that partner leads and in the suit 
declarer attacks? 

West North East South

- P P P

2NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♦ J

Here 3NT is played by West on the ♦J lead from 
North. 

Declarer wins trick one with the ♦A (a poorly 
judged false card as you know the location of 
the ♦Q from the opening lead) and can 
count seven top tricks in the red suits. 

There are two “slow” Club tricks if declarer can 
get at them so West immediately leads the ♣Q. 
North has no reason at all to take that with his 
Ace so he ducks, playing the ♣6, and you, as 
South, should equally be in no hurry to part with 
the ♣K. 

Work it out. If either North or South takes the 
first Club the hand is easy-peasy, lemon 
squeezy. Declarer wins the Diamond return in 
hand with the ♦Q, plays the ♣9 and overtakes it 
in the dummy. This way he cannot be 
prevented from setting up two Clubs and 
reaching them with the ♦K. 

If, however, the ♣Q is ducked by both 
defenders there are insufficient entries to get 
the Clubs going and declarer has nowhere to 
go for nine tricks. If he plays on Spades (a 
classical frozen suit) he must lose three tricks 
there. 
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www.vubridge.com

A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 SA
Contract: 3N
By: West

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 2

Dealer: East Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North
♠ JT985
♥ 765
♦ T9
♣ 532

West
♠ Q763
♥ QT
♦ AQJ6
♣ KQJ

East
♠ K4
♥ J9842
♦ 542
♣ AT6

South
♠ A2
♥ AK3
♦ K873
♣ 9874

Can you piece together who has what high 
cards on this deal? 

Having done that, can you find an effective 
defense? 

West North East South

- - P 1♦

1NT P 2♦ P

2♥ P 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♠ J

After you open 1♦ West eventually plays in 
3NT. North, with nothing much to guide him, 
leads the ♠J and declarer faces an interesting 
play problem. 

Superficially, West can see one Spade, three 
Hearts, at least two Diamonds and three Clubs 
for his contract (you are marked with all the 
missing high cards after the bidding). However, 
can declarer get to them all? 

Declarer plays the ♠K from dummy (won by 
your ♠A) and takes the ♠Q at trick two. Note 
that your ♠2 return is a little revealing as it 
suggests that Spades are 5-2 – with two 
remaining Spades you'd lead the higher card 
back. 

Declarer now advances the ♥Q and the fate of 
the hand depends on this trick. Take it and 
West makes his contract easily. Duck it (and 
North's carding shows you he has three Hearts, 
leaving West with two) and declarer has to go 
off. 

If you take the ♥K and play back a minor card 
(a Club is best) West can win that in hand and 
overtake the ♥10 with the ♥J on table. He is 
certain to get Hearts going now for three tricks. 
However... should you allow the ♥Q to win what 
can declarer do next? Another Heart is won by 
the ♥K but now West lacks the entries to set up 
and enjoy the long suit. He will end up with one 
Heart trick only. 

It now takes brilliant play from declarer to get 
out for one down... 
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 1 SA
Contract: 3N
By: East

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 3
Dealer: South Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North
♠ Q63
♥ 9754
♦ A84
♣ J42

West
♠ 842
♥ J63
♦ KJT9
♣ 863

East
♠ AK5
♥ QT8
♦ Q5
♣ AKQT5

South
♠ JT97
♥ AK2
♦ 7632
♣ 97

Here is another good hand facing a weak 
dummy. 

Can you tell partner what to do in time? 

West North East South

- - - P

P P 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: ♠ J

East reaches 3NT having shown 20-21 points 
and dummy has a miserable hand. You, sitting 
South,  have an obvious ♠J lead but you cannot 
be sure of the Spade layout when partner plays 
the ♠6 and declarer wins the ♠K. 

Declarer starts on Diamonds by leading the ♦Q 
and you must make a clear signal to partner, 
who may have ♦A × ×. (In passing it’s worth 
noting that if partner has ♦A × and declarer ♦Q 
× × then the defense is without hope as partner 
cannot isolate the Diamonds on the table). 

Now, which Diamond should you play? The ♦3, 
intending to play the ♦2 on the next round? Ah, 
but what happens if declarer puts the ♦K on the 
♦Q and leads the ♦J? Now partner is in agonies 
of indecision as he can’t judge whether your ♦3 
is the start of a high-low or the lowest card from 
three. Probably he will duck a second Diamond 
and declarer will have a second Diamond trick. 

Note that two Diamond tricks is all that East 
needs to make 3NT. He has two Spades and 
five Clubs (with the 3-2 break) so just two 
Diamond tricks would do very nicely, thank you. 

Now, when you are making a length signal with 
four low cards it is almost always right to signal 
with the second-highest card. Why? Because 
it is very hard for partner to misread it. The ♦6 is 
the right card to play on the ♦Q as your length-
showing signal. 

Here, when partner reads you for four 
Diamonds and takes the ♦A on the second 
round declarer is dead and buried – 3NT has no 
chance. 
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 1 SA
Contract: 3N
By: West

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 4
Dealer: West Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North
♠ JT97
♥ AK2
♦ 7632
♣ 97

West
♠ AK5
♥ QT8
♦ Q5
♣ AKQT5

East
♠ 842
♥ J63
♦ KJT9
♣ 863

South
♠ Q63
♥ 9754
♦ A84
♣ J42

On this hand you have little information on 
which to make a critical decision in the 
defense. 

Can you make best use of the one card 
partner has played? 

West North East South

2NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♠ J

You may not have realized it but this hand is 
Hand 3 rotated through 180�. Here you have to 
decide how many Diamonds to duck as South 
against 3NT after East-West have bid 2NT – 
3NT. 

Partner leads the ♠J and you do the best you 
can to signal encouragement with the ♠6 (this, 
you should note, is not a length-showing
position). Declarer takes the ♠K and plays the 
♦Q to the ♦K and tries the ♦J, forcing you to 
make a decision before you have seen your 
partner’s second card. 

Well? Win or duck? Let’s analyze partner’s ♦6 
on the first round. Can North have three 
Diamonds? No, because the ♦6 cannot be the 
lowest of three cards (you can see all of the ♦A 
K Q J 10 9 8 so there aren’t two Diamonds 
higher than the ♦6 that partner can hold). 

So the ♦6 is the start of a high-low and North 
has an even number – either two or four. If 
partner has two Diamonds declarer has four 
and we are wasting our time – no defense 
works as West has three Diamond tricks 
regardless. 

If partner has four Diamonds, though, declarer 
has two and we must take the second Diamond 
with the ♦A. 

Having done so, we make the routine play of 
returning partner’s Spade suit and let nature 
take its course. As it happens, 3NT simply runs 
out of steam and fails by one trick. 
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 SA
Contract: 3N
By: West

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 5

Dealer: North Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North
♠ QT7
♥ JT987
♦ 32
♣ J96

West
♠ AJ8
♥ AKQ
♦ Q54
♣ AK42

East
♠ 642
♥ 653
♦ KJT96
♣ 73

South
♠ K953
♥ 42
♦ A87
♣ QT85

These last two hands feature tricky defenses. 

You need to keep your wits about you and 
look very carefully at the spot cards. 

Can you work out what the distribution of a 
critical suit is from very little evidence? 

West North East South

- P P P

2♣ P 2♦ P

2NT P 3NT P

P P

Lead: ♥ J

West plays in 3NT and your partner leads the 
♥J. West has to make tricks from the Diamond 
suit so plays one at trick two. 

Now, the hand would easy to defend should 
declarer lead the ♦Q and follow with either of 
his Diamonds at trick two. Sitting South you'd 
be able to see both of your partner's Diamond 
cards in good time and see whether North 
played high-low or not. 

Here you'd see partner play the ♦3 followed by 
the ♦2 and you'd know that he had two (and 
West had three). With that in mind you would 
duck two rounds of Diamonds and West would 
fail in his contract, restricted to one Spade, 
three Hearts, two Diamonds and two Clubs. 

However... here, West decides, on a whim, to 
play Diamonds differently.  For no real reason 
he leads a low Diamond (the ♦4) to the ♦9 and 
then leads the ♦K. (If you take the ♦A West fully 
intends to pitch the ♦Q). You now have to 
decide what to do after you have only seen one 
card from partner (the ♦3). Should you duck the 
♦K or should you take it? 

You cannot immediately read the Diamond suit 
– the ♦3 could be the start of a high-low from a 
doubleton (specifically the ♦3 2) or it could be 
the lowest card from three. At this point you 
have to realize that the ♦2 is missing. If declarer 
has it (with his ♦Q) then partner has a singleton 
Diamond. (Why? Because otherwise East has 
♦Q 4 2 and North has played the ♦3 from ♦5 3. 
Not possible, unless he is asleep at the wheel. 
So West has ♦Q 5 4 2). If North has it then he 
must have precisely two Diamonds (the ♦3 2) 
and hence West has three. 

In this case it is right to duck the Diamond. 
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A series on simple length-showing signals to shut out dummy; 
SA version

VB#20 Year 2 Length-showing signals Part 2 SA
Contract: 3N
By: East

Date: 07/09/2014 Board #: 6

Dealer: East Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North
♠ Q75
♥ J732
♦ QT82
♣ 43

West
♠ 63
♥ 986
♦ 654
♣ KJT76

East
♠ AK42
♥ AK5
♦ AK7
♣ Q82

South
♠ JT98
♥ QT4
♦ J93
♣ A95

In similar vein to Hand 5 you have to make an 
important early decision on this deal with a 
minimum of information. 

What should you do and why? 

West North East South

- - 2♣ P

2♦ P 2NT P

3NT P P P

Lead: S

East reaches 3NT and you, as South, lead the 
obvious ♠J. It is not so easy to see what is 
going on in Spades when North follows with the 
♠7 and East takes the ♠A. Still, the ♠7 does look 
encouraging.

Anyway, once again, as in Hand 5, you have to 
read the layout of dummy's long suit with very 
little information. 

East would make the hand easy for you if he 
were to lead a low Club to the ♣10 and then 
lead a low one back to the ♣Q. Should he do 
that you'd have an armchair ride in the 
defense –you would see North make a high-low 
signal in Clubs (the ♣4 followed by the ♣3) and 
you would easily deduce that North had two 
Clubs and East had three. On that basis you 
would know to hold up the ♣A until the third 
round. Simple. 

However... this East, for no reason other than it 
seemed like a good idea to him at the time, 
decides to lead the ♣Q from hand at trick two 
and follows it with the ♣8. You have only seen 
one Club from North (the ♣4) so have to make 
a decision under pressure. It could be wrong 
to duck again (if East had ♣Q 8 alone); it could 
be wrong to take the ♣A. 

How can you tell? 

The $64000 question is: Where is the missing
♣2? (You might equally well ask Where is the
♣3?) 

If North has either of them then he is playing 
high-low. In that case he has two Clubs only 
and you must hold up the ♣A. 

If East has one of the missing baby Clubs 
then he has three Clubs. The conclusion is that 
(again) you must withhold the Ace. QED. 

Declarer has simply no suit in his hand that will 
yield an extra trick and 3NT must fail.
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