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Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 2S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 1

Dealer: West Vulnerable: None

Play this hand online!

North

♠ Q954

♥ KJ86

♦ Q9

♣ AJ2

West

♠ 8

♥ AQ53

♦ AKT76

♣ T87

East

♠ AT7

♥ T97

♦ 84

♣ Q9543

South

♠ KJ632

♥ 42

♦ J532

♣ K6

This set of deals (and another set to be be 
found elsewhere in this edition) is all 
about the take-out Double. The principle 
of the take-out Double is generally well 
understood – a low level Double asks 
partner to bid his best suit. 

What's the problem then? Well, the 
"responder" to a take-out Double has to 
take care to bid with great accuracy. 
Firstly, he has a gun pointing at his temple 
– he cannot Pass the Double as the 
opponents are likely to make the contract, 
possibly with overtricks. This means he 
has to bid, even with a collection of used 
tram-tickets. Therefore, responder cannot 
make a minimum bid if he does have some 
values otherwise partner (the Doubler) will 
be in the dark. 

These hands are designed to lead you 
safely through this minefield...

Hand 1: Bidding accurately opposite a take-
out Double is fairly simple. The "rule" is not to 
make the same bid on very different hands.

Partners are delicate flowers and they need 
careful nurturing...

West North East South

1♦ X P 2♠

P P P

Lead: ♦ A

Bidding

This is a very straightforward hand.  West (on 
your left) opens 1♦, North has a respectable but 
minimum take-out Double to which you (South) 
should respond 2♠ after East Passes.  Not 1♠, 
note, which could be based on nothing, but a 
jump to 2♠, which shows about this sort of hand 
(8-11 points, give or take).  On this layout this 
ends the auction; North has done his bit with a 
Double on a minimum hand so it would be 
foolish for him to bid on. 

Now, you may say that bidding 2♠ instead of 1♠ 
has gained you nothing and – on this deal – 
that is probably true. However, on other deals 
partner will have an easy time assessing your 
values (and, more importantly, your lack of 
them) if you bid with clarity. If you respond 1♠ 
on this type of hand and also on, say, 

♠ 10 6 3 2
♥ 7 4 2
♦ J 5 3 2
♣ Q 6 

how is partner supposed to bid a good hand 
accurately? 

Play

Anyway – onto the play of the dummy. Against 
2♠ West starts off with three rounds of 
Diamonds (East having made a "come-on" 
signal by playing the ♦8 before the ♦4). This is 
awkward and demands that you ruff high in 
dummy to prefent a cheap over-ruff. As the 
cards lie you cannot avoid losing two trump 
tricks to East whether you ruff first with the ♠Q 
or the ♠9 – West can always regain the lead 
with the ♥A and lead yet another Diamond. 

Still, losing two trump tricks is no disaster; all 
the defence can take is two Spades, one Heart 
and two Diamonds.  
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www.vubridge.com

Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 2C

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 2

Dealer: West Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ AK73

♥ A953

♦ T4

♣ A72

West

♠ T9

♥ KQJT

♦ AQ875

♣ QJ

East

♠ Q8642

♥ 74

♦ K62

♣ T84

South

♠ J5

♥ 862

♦ J93

♣ K9653

Anyone (almost!) can make game when 
you've got 26-plus points. Not every hand can 
be a game contract though, full of easy 
tricks. Often, you will have hands like this, a 
little skirmish for a part-score. 

It has been said that two-level contracts are 
the hardest to make and the hardest to 
defeat.

West North East South

1♦ X P 2♣

P P P

Lead: ♥ K

Bidding

We all shudder when we have a poor hand and 
our partner makes a take-out Double; all 
we want to do is quietly Pass and leave the 
table. But as we know, you simply cannot Pass 
a take-out Double with no intervening bid. 

Our partner's take-out Double on this deal is 
straight from the textbook. The shape is perfect, 
even more points than needed (cf Hand 1), and 
a serious desire to compete in any suit. 

With no chance of a major fit, we look to our 
pathetic, ratty, sickly Club suit. We bid it at the 
cheapest possible level, showing 0-8 points or 
so. We might pray for East-West to bid again, 
but no such luck. 

Anyway, in these cases, you should reflect and 
ask yourself "How much worse might my hand 
have been?" You have a five-card suit and you 
have 5 points. These features are not nothing. 
Indeed not. Ask yourself how you would have 
felt after the same auction with either of these 
hands: 

♠ J 7 6
♥ J 4 2
♦ J 9 3
♣ 9 6 5 3 

or – horror of horrors: 

♠ 9 7 6
♥ 8 4 2
♦ 10 9 3 2
♣ 9 6 5 

Now thank your lucky stars for a decent five-
card suit and a King!

Anyway, after your 2♣ call North recognises 
a stop sign when we sees it, and Passes. (How 
does he know? It's the fact that we have made 
a minimum response and not jumped the 
bidding). 

Play

When the opening lead of the ♥K (promising the 
♥Q also) is made and dummy comes down we 
see a dummy that offers us a chance of making 
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the contract.  

Our preliminary Count shows no Spade losers, 
two Hearts, two Diamonds (planning to ruff the 
third in dummy) and probably (well, definitely) 
one Club loser. We can make this if we have 
good timing. It will take us three rounds of 
trumps to get them all (with the 68% chance of 
a 3-2 split), but we must have one in dummy to 
ruff that Diamond with. 

Our first order of business is to strip the dummy 
of Diamonds so we can ruff. At trick two we 
lead a Diamond. 

We get our first surprise at trick three when 
West leads a Club. Wow! Good for them. The 
best advice we can give defenders is "Look at 
the dummy, Dummy!" and that's what West did. 
He saw that you were stripping the dummy 
(else why wouldn't you be pulling trumps?) in 
preparation to ruff Diamonds, so he decided to 
cut down on your ability to ruff by leading 
trumps. 

When you regain the lead at trick four, you stick 
to your plan and get rid of dummy's last 
Diamond. At trick five, West leads another 
trump, but it's too little too late. You carefully 
retained your ♣K to get back to your hand and 
you ruff the Diamond. 

The hand is over. You will get your ♠A K, and 
your remaining trumps after they take their 
trump trick. You make your contract. 

Now, a couple of final words. Trumping in 
dummy and Dumping in dummy require two 
different strategies. Most of the time, you 
cannot afford to pull trumps till you Trump in 
dummy. If you are going to Dump in dummy, 
you want to pull trumps so "they" can't ruff your 
long suit. 
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Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 3

Dealer: West Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 7

♥ AT86

♦ A753

♣ K842

West

♠ AKQT8

♥ 9

♦ J842

♣ QJT

East

♠ 9652

♥ 743

♦ T9

♣ A976

South

♠ J43

♥ KQJ52

♦ KQ6

♣ 53

On the last deal you had to bid with a lousy 
hand. On this deal we show you the other 
side of the coin. By bidding accurately, you 
make sure you don't put pressure on your 
partner in the bidding. 

In terms of dummy play, you have to focus on 
the timing of the hand for success.

West North East South

1♠ X 2♠ 4♥

P P P

Lead: ♠ A

Bidding

North's take-out Double of 1♠ is perfect. He only 
has 11 high card points, but reckons on 
something extra for the singleton in the 
opponents' suit. Notice what a brave soldier 
East is, not wanting to just roll over and play 
dead. He knows there's something of a Spade 
fit for his side so he raises his partner's suit just 
for nuisance value. 

But we are not to be denied our game. We want 
to flog this dead horse a little longer: 

When your partner makes a take-out Double 
your response must reflect both your length 
and your strength.

Were you to be foolish enough to bid a pathetic 
3♥ your partner would/should Pass as he would 
assume you were merely competing over 2♠. 
By jumping to game, you are showing that 
you've got the point-count to be in game 
opposite a minimum opening bid. And would 
you look at your Hearts? Not bad, eh? 

Play

West makes the expected high Spade lead and 
we pause to reflect. We have Spade losers in 
hand, two of which can be ruffed in dummy. We 
have no Diamond losers and two possible Club 
losers. In order to make this contract, we must 
ruff Spade losers. (What do we do with losers? 
We Trump them in dummy or Dump them on 
dummy's long suits). 

When we plan to ruff losers, we need to be very 
aware of how many trumps are in the dummy's 
hand. We need to ruff two losers, so if we pull 
trumps in the expected three rounds, we'd only 
have one left and we'd now have two Heart 
losers to go with our two Clubs. 

At trick two, West leads the ♣Q, and we know 
immediately our ♣K isn't worth the pasteboard 
he's printed on. Some food for thought: When 
an honour is trapped like that ♣K, make them 
work for it (unless you have a good reason – 
like the promotion of another card). 

At trick four, we are finally in when we get to ruff 
a Club. We have a plan and we stick to it, 
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leading a Spade and ruffing on the table (in the 
short trump hand, note). 

Now, here's what we want you to notice. At 
trick five we need to get back to the 
closed hand. We could do it with a Diamond, 
but it's much better to do it with a trump. 
We won't be giving up the lead and we'll be 
pulling some of theirs. If you can afford it, it's 
better to use trumps first for entries. 

At trick six, we ruff our last losing Spade, and 
go about the business of pulling the rest of the 
outstanding Hearts. Then we are in a position to 
cash our winners and claim. 

Job done. 
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Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 4H

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 4

Dealer: West Vulnerable: All

Play this hand online!

North

♠ AJT2

♥ J983

♦ A6

♣ A84

West

♠ K964

♥ A5

♦ KQJT7

♣ JT

East

♠ Q8

♥ 74

♦ 9842

♣ 97653

South

♠ 753

♥ KQT62

♦ 53

♣ KQ2

Another deal where we have to make a 
careful response to a take-out Double. After 
that it's a question of re-evaluation. 

In terms of the card-play... you'd think with 
billions of possible hands, we'd never see the 
same thing twice, but there are certain card 
combinations we see over and over. We see 
an old friend in this hand that will help us 
make the contract. 

Will you know him when you see him?

West North East South

1♦ X P 2♥

P 3♥ P 4♥

P P P

Lead: ♦ K

Bidding

North has an ideal hand for a take-out Double 
of a 1♦ opening bid with 14 good points and 4-4 
in the majors. Our 2♥ response shows 8-11 
points (give or take) and is invitational. (Note 
that a 1♥ response would be a travesty of a bid 
on those South cards) 

Partner needs to know if it's 8, in which case 
game is not realistic, or 11. He bounces 
the buck back to us with a 3♥ raise. As we 
are near the top of the range we accept the 
invitation. 

Play

Our Count and Plan reveals two possible 
Spade losers, one Heart and one Diamond. The 
only loser we can hope to get rid of is the 
Spade. We remember the 75% solution: 
When two honours are out against us, they 
generally split. If they split (or if they are both in 
the West hand), we will only lose one Spade 
trick, and if they are both in East, we'll lose two. 
We have a 75% chance of success, you can't 
ask for better odds than that. In fact, after West 
has opened the bidding there is a greater than 
75% chance that he has a Spade honour. 

We consider whether or not we should pull 
trumps first. In general, there are two 
reasons not to pull trumps. One is if you need 
to ruff in dummy and can't afford to shorten 
dummy's holding. The other is if pulling trumps 
would lose you the lead when you absolutely 
cannot afford to give it up. Neither condition 
appears here, so we plan to pull trumps, then 
attack Spades. 

We take trick one with our ♦A, and go right after 
the trumps at trick two. At trick three, they 
harvest their other Diamond winner, and with 
nothing better to do, try a Club. 

We can win that (anywhere) and pull the last of 
the trumps (we even get a favourable 2-2 split). 
Now it's time for the Spades. We lead from our 
hand up to the ♠10. The East honour takes the 
trick. We win the Club return in hand and play 
another Spade. 
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Dummy's ♠J holds, as we have every right to 
expect. The 4-2 Spade break is irrelevant – we 
have the rest of the tricks. 

What a nifty little hand. A take-out Double and 
clear responses, plus meeting our old friend the 
75% solution (aka combination finesse) brought 
home another contract. 
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Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 4S

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 5

Dealer: West Vulnerable: N / S

Play this hand online!

North

♠ KQ32

♥ 95

♦ KJ6

♣ AKQJ

West

♠ AT8

♥ AKQ63

♦ T98

♣ 63

East

♠ J5

♥ T872

♦ 7542

♣ T95

South

♠ 9764

♥ J4

♦ AQ3

♣ 8742

This deal may cause you to reappraise a poor 
hand. 

Further, you're going to have to be careful 
with the declarer play. No change there, 
then...

West North East South

1♥ X P 1♠

P 3♠ P 4♠

P P P

Lead: ♥ A

Bidding

Our response to North's take-out Double of 
1♥ should show both shape and point count 
(you've heard that before, we think). We have 
just 7 points, and our Spade suit is certainly 
nothing exciting, so we make the cheapest bid 
we can in Spades. 

Somewhat surprisingly, partner jumps to 3♠. 
We haven't come up against this yet, so let's 
reason it through. Essentially all invitational 
bids say the same thing: If you are at the top of 
your previously-stated range, take us to the 
next bonus level. Now, for partner to be willing 
to play in game opposite our max of 6-7 (maybe 
a bad 8), he has to have 19+ points of his own. 

We like our chances. We do have that lovely 
Diamond tenace in hand. In these cases it's 
worth asking yourself how much worse your 
hand might have been. In this case – a lot 
worse, so we are fully justified in advancing to 
game. Go for it...

Play

When dummy comes down we can see that 
North has a nice 19 points although his hand 
probably isn't worth as much as he thinks it is. 
Our preliminary Count shows some problems. 
We have two fast losers in Hearts and the Ace 
of trumps is AWOL as well, and thus we must 
bring the trump suit home for no more than one 
loser. 

The bidding pretty much guarantees West holds 
the ♠A (if East has it then West has opened the 
bidding on peanuts and we are just going down 
in 4♠). If we can finesse twice from our hand up 
to the ♠K Q, we can make it. To succeed we 
need trumps 3-2 with West holding the ♠A.

What if we get a 4-1 trump split? Well, we will 
go down, but we will have given it the best shot. 

So, tricks one and two, we take our punishment 
in Hearts. At trick three, look at West's dilemma. 
He looks at the dummy (highly recommended 
for defenders) and sees he cannot lead 
Spades. He knows they have one more sure 
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trick with the Ace of trumps, and figures if there 
is another trick, it has to be in Diamonds. 

We smartly take the ♦10 switch in hand with the 
♦A (just to give West hope his partner has the 
♦Q), and at trick four, we take our first Spade 
finesse. West, of course, plays low and allows 
the ♠Q to win on the table. Trick five, back to 
our hand with another Diamond to lead another 
Spade through West. When East follows suit, 
we know we have the contract in the bag. We 
got our much needed 3-2 split. 

West can have his trump trick when he wishes; 
the rest of the tricks are ours. Another winning 
hand, thanks to careful planning. Oh, and a little 
luck.
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Using a Take-Out Double to compete. ACOL Version

VB#20 Year 1 Take-out Doubles Part 1 ACOL
Contract: 3N

By: South

Date: 07/10/2015 Board #: 6

Dealer: West Vulnerable: E / W

Play this hand online!

North

♠ 53

♥ AQJ2

♦ KJT9

♣ Q93

West

♠ AQ8742

♥ 85

♦ 2

♣ AJ42

East

♠ T6

♥ 7643

♦ Q864

♣ T76

South

♠ KJ9

♥ KT9

♦ A753

♣ K85

You have two problems to untangle on this 
deal – firstly what you respond to partner's 
take-out Double and secondly exactly how to 
play the dummy.

This isn't straightforward – you may need to 
go and find your thinking-cap...

West North East South

1♠ X P 3NT

P P P

Lead: ♠ 7

As South you hold a flat 14 points and hear 
partner Double 1♠. You might (fleetingly) think 
of bidding Diamonds on your hand but to what 
level? 2♦ would be an absurd call (you would 
make that bid with nothing) and jumps to 3♦, 
4♦ or 5♦ would land you in difficulty (the more 
so as partner's support for the suit may be only 
three cards). 

The solution is to bid what you think you can 
make – and that is 3NT. You have the Spades 
securely stopped and you know that your 
partnership has sufficient values for this 
venture. 

West leads his fourth-highest Spade against 
3NT and you can count six top tricks (four 
Hearts and two Diamonds) plus a Spade after 
the lead. It appears that taking the Diamond 
finesse successfully will be sufficient (four 
Hearts, four Diamonds and a Spade) but there 
is a way of all but guaranteeing the contract. 

Although West is strong favourite to hold the 
♦Q – by virtue of his opening bid – the best play 
is to take the Diamond finesse through East. 
(Play the ♦K and run the ♦J). This will always 
guarantee three Diamond tricks even if West 
turns up with the ♦Q. (As it happens, though, 
declarer makes four Diamonds and his contract 
easily). 

But if West were to win the ♦Q he could do 
nothing to damage 3NT. He couldn't lead 
another Spade without giving you a second 
Spade trick and anything else gives you time to 
set up the ninth trick in Clubs. It's another one 
of those heads-I-win-tails-you-lose plays and 
goes by the pleasing name of a safety finesse. 

Note that West's opening bid makes it a near 
certainty that he holds the ♣A, by the way... 
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